Granny's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Very satisfying. Full of flavor. This is a keeper. I used whole grain flour. It baked up beautifully. It makes a wonderful loaf to give as a gift as well as for home. You never miss the oil/fat. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen-Nay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
I use this weekly and it is a fave of my 3 year old. No oil, no fat and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
ECXELLENT BREAD AND WANDERFUL AROMA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Great way to use up those ripe bananas-If you like breads you got to try this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Add that fifth star for this one. I made it with cup for cup sugar replacement and it is awesome. A huge treat for the diabetics in your life without losing any flavor. Enjoy it :}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I'm ambivalent with the rating here. I liked the fact that when baked, this looked much like a banana bread does when you add butter; you get that nice crusty golden top. I think the problem is with the amt. of bananas. I too found that after 45 minutes, it was not done inside and the top was getting very brown(not too brown but if I cooked it for the amt. of time needed to bake the inside, it would be black on the outside). I turned down the oven temp to 350 and tented the top. This helped it to bake further and it is very moist; and not gummy I omitted the raisins, and cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups and it was plenty sweet. doubled the cinnamon, and added a tsp. salt! Without the salt, this would taste very bland even with a vibrant banana flavor. Salt gets a bad rap; it helps to ENHANCE flavors. I like the method of the cooking temp and low fat, but will try this again using only 3 bananas to see if that helps cook more evenly. It actually bakes up like a picture; the loaf really looks beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
I made this into muffins, I followed the recipe exactly, but did not add the extras. I cooked them for 35 min. They are good, but next time I will take them out 5 min earlier. Thanks it is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This is the easiest banana bread to make. I added a little more cinnamon and nutmeg, and only 1 1/2 c flour and it was VERY moist. I did not add nuts or raisins. I will use this recipe from now on. I only baked for 45 minutes, too. Perfect - my husband loved it!!! Just a great recipe - perfection!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This is Wonderful! Make sure to add the Walnuts and Raisins as it really adds to the flavor. I doubled the amount of cinnamon and Nutmeg for a little more flavor. It really does call for two medium pans, not one. cooking time was about 45 minutes in the center of the oven. Great with butter or Cream cheese. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clay, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Super. Great Banana Bread. Recipe exactly correct. Pan size and cooking time exactly correct. Great with raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States