Granny's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
It's ok. I wanted a lighter option for banana bread but when I compare calories with my favorite recipe on this site ("Banana Banana Bread") they are practically the same. Next time I think I'll try "Banana Banana Bread" and substitute applesauce for the butter and see how it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Delicious! I made an extra healthy version, substituting whole wheat flour, and 1 cup brown rice syrup plus 1/2 tsp more of baking soda for the sugar. My husband couldn't tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Very good recipe for banana-bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Awesome recipe. I made muffins for my boys (they have more fun that way). Baked for 13 min and doubled the cinnamon and nutmeg. They Love them! Excellent for a decently healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I think this was as good as it would get for being so healthy. I guess i'm just use to oil/butter banana bread. It did seem to have an odd texture. But it was good. Might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Very good. For a recipe being so easy, you can't beat it. I used 3 bananas and homemade applesauce. Cut the sugar a bit and reduced cook time for 2 small loaves. Very good, quick & easy. SO GOOD warm with butter! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie3372

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Okay. So, I wanted to add a little fat to this just for my baking preferance. I doubled this, cut out half the bananas and used one stick butter and one stick margerine and added a little salt. I used my own homemade crockpot applesauce and just a little apple pie spice, as my applesauce was already spiced up. Everything else I kept the same. The smell of this while baking was incredible. I won't be trying this myself as these will be gifts, but I'll update this recipes as soon as I hear how my friends liked them. This recipe made two large loaves and one mini, when doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I love that this has no butter. It's very good, though I altered it for my personal preferences. One of the 2.25 c. of flour I used was whole wheat. I put no spices in it, and I think next time, I may add a little salt. I got one full loaf and a mini loaf out of the recipe. My husband likes it a lot so it's a keeper! Thanks. (I'll try to upload a pic)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Mattila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Excellent! used stewed pears instead of applsauce - all I had. Made the loaf fantastic. Def. a keeper. Use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUDMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
It does not taste like banana bread. It baked at to high of a temp and burnt edges. Outside was leathery. It tasted spicey, not like banana. Horrible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States