Granny Mabel's Best Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This recipe tastes just like the bars at Potbelly Sandwich, awesome!! Thanks for the great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These cookies are excellent. I did cut out 1 stick of butter and the recipe turned out fine. I suggest putting them in the fridge after they have cooled. They get really chewy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Fabulous if you cut the butter down to 1 c. I made my own caramel sauce and it was divine. The hubby asked me several times if I had saved the recipe! An added bonus is the similarity to the Potbelly's treat called Sheila's Dream Bars. I used to work for the real Sheila back in the day and she kept these stashed in her freezer. Now I live thousands of miles away from a Potbelly's, so when I get a craving, I'll be whipping up a batch of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malone, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
My daughter loves these Cookies. When I took them to work, 3 people asked for the recipe. This is so rich it is almost like candy rather than a cookie. I followed the recipee with no modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
SO YUMMY! I cut the butter down to 3/4 cup. I only had half of the caramel sauce needed, so I melted about 2 cups mini candy bars, ( Snickers, Milky Way, 3 Muskateers, & Hershey bars in a couple tablespoons of milk to thin it down. Spread on the crust part, & poured the 1/2 jar of caramel sauce over that.It was pure rich buttery goodness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
These bars are great for a party! I suggest not cutting the butter, like others have suggested; if you do, the crust is too crumbly, makes a mess and are hard to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
These are quite similar to the "Sheila's Dream Bars" at Potbelly's. They were wonderful and just the recipe that I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I've made a different variation of this recipe many times using caramel candies instead of the topping, which had a better texture, but the topping was sooo much easier. I also added some chopped walnuts over the caramel. (1 cup) I too, found this version to have way too much butter. I only made it once so far, but it was so gooey and the butter was actually oozing out of the topping that was in the bowl. IT was extremely hot in my kitchen that day, so that could have been the problem. I put them in the freezer after I cut them up. That helped a lot. I will definitely make these again but with much less butter. Maybe 1 stick less. My favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I thought these bars were AMAZING! All my friends loved them! They are very rich, but delicious. I lined my pans with parchment instead of greasing them or anything, and the bars came out beautifully. Great recipe! Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Lynn White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Excellent! You will not be disappointed by this recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States