Granny Mabel's Best Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made these today to take to an out of town Thanksgiving get-together. They were very easy to make and I used Smuckers Butterscotch Carmel in the filling along with the chips. I let them cool thoroughly and they wanted to come apart when I tried to cut them and put them in my container. I was a little put out - but then again it has 3 sticks of butter in it!!!! My husband and I both tasted them (made them for the first time today) and we both thought the taste was wonderful. They're just very gooey!!! I'll put them in the car overnight (it's gonna get COLD!!!) and hopefully by the time we get there they will "firm up" a bit. I would still make them again, but might adjust the amount of butter. Thanks for a great and easy bar. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Foulke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Byron, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Amazing. I used a 16 oz jar of caramel and a bag of chocolate chips. I used instant oats as well and turned out amazing. Definitely not dry - These are so moist and creamy. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellymouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Just amazing! I only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of butter. Did not have rolled oats, used 6 instant oatmeal packages instead, and still it was fantastic. Everyone raved about it and could not stop licking their fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Love these bars, and they are always a hit!!!! I used 1 cup of butter instead of 1 1/2....also added butterscotch chips with the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyh
Home Town: Hershey, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I make this over and over again bc I am ASKED to make it over and over again!!! (And bc I love it too!) These are amazing and there is no egg involved! I do make a change to the recipe and I use peanut butter AND chocolate chips, and instead of caramel I make peanut butter glaze that I put in the middle as well as on top. It is really simple-2 TBSP peanut butter, confectioner's sugar and milk until it is a drizzly consistency. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Yummy. I brought these to a work pot luck and half of them were gone by the time lunch rolled around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
pretty good but a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I didn't change a thing & they were inhaled by husband's friends. I was aghast at the amount of butter and after (later) reading other reviews, I think I will try to reduce the amount in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
SO VERY DELISH!!!!!!! Used Mrs. Richardson's caramel/butterscotch topping. It's my favorite. So yuummyy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States