Granny Mabel's Best Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
Yummy yummy! I went with the suggestion of using 3/4 cup granulated sugar & 3/4 cup brown sugar. You could cut down butter, but I found that by baking an additional 10-15 minutes it allowed the gooey topping to become more golden and crunchy. I used dulce de leche & it was just marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
yum! These are quick, easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I used less butter and these cookies where delicious. I am coming back to make a second batch since the first ones got eaten so quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wavy437

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
Fast, easy & delicious! I'll make them again & won't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
These are probably the best cookies/bars I've ever had or made. I have had a ton of people request them at my work and I've had to give the recipe to like ten people. The only changes I made were to: change the sugar to 3/4 c. sugar and 3/4 c. brown sugar, and add a tsp of vanilla to the melted butter. I also use 3/4 cup of caramel because I couldn't find the right size jar (also, I bake 15 and 15 because my oven is finiky).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
These bars are awesome! I experimented also with Milky Way ice cream topping and they also turned out yummy! They are like a candy bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
great recipe. easy and delicious - how can you go wrong with that combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Followed the advice to cut butter to 1 cup and mixed brown/granulated sugar. My son made these for his 4H fair, and they were champion in his category- the judge said she had never had a better textured bar cookie! Very good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
We loved this recipe. Very rich but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quiggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I just realized I've never rated this, although I've made at least 50 batches! These are so wonderful, I found them on this site after tasting the same recipe at a popular sandwich chain, called "Sheila's Dream Bars" there. This is the exact same recipe, and it is buttery, but wonderful. You can omit 1 stick of butter without impacting the recipe too much if needed, I also often cut back on the sugar just 3-4 tblsp or so since the filling is so sweet. It definitely helps to refrigerate the dough for the top layer before adding and try to smoosh it flat and piece together as much as possible. And definitely keep the filling at least half an inch from the edges, I also press the dough down all around the edges to keep the caramel from leaking to the edge and burning. I have also started making different variations of these bars with different fillings - strawberry preserves and cheesecake filling, leftover apple pie filling and pecans, leftover bananas foster filling...all wonderful. They look nice when you wrap them in plastic wrap in squares and are very easy to make - thanks so much for ending my search!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States