Granny Mabel's Best Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
Fast, easy & delicious! I'll make them again & won't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
Very easy to make. Made it for a party and everyone loved them. The chocolate layer is delicious and gooey. I saved some of the chocolate chips, melted them in the microwave, and dribbled on the cooled bars to decorate. However, I found them a little heavy on the oats and butter. Taste like chocolate oatmeal cookies. May try to cut down on these ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
These were way too buttery. Even after they cooled off the butter was all over everyones hands and plates. Very greasy. I put them in the fridge and they were a little better after that. If I make them again I will definitely use less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
These are probably the best cookies/bars I've ever had or made. I have had a ton of people request them at my work and I've had to give the recipe to like ten people. The only changes I made were to: change the sugar to 3/4 c. sugar and 3/4 c. brown sugar, and add a tsp of vanilla to the melted butter. I also use 3/4 cup of caramel because I couldn't find the right size jar (also, I bake 15 and 15 because my oven is finiky).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
These bars are awesome! I experimented also with Milky Way ice cream topping and they also turned out yummy! They are like a candy bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
great recipe. easy and delicious - how can you go wrong with that combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I accidentally used 1 1/2 sticks of butter instead of 1 1/2 cups, and it was still quite buttery. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeview, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
Yummy yummy! I went with the suggestion of using 3/4 cup granulated sugar & 3/4 cup brown sugar. You could cut down butter, but I found that by baking an additional 10-15 minutes it allowed the gooey topping to become more golden and crunchy. I used dulce de leche & it was just marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Wow! These cookies are really rich! I followed the recipe except I decreased the butter to 1 cup as per others suggestions. Husband just kept saying "Yum!!!" A little rich or me but will make again because he loved them so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
These are so good!!! When I was making them I thought they might be kind of dry. But, I was wrong. These are very moist and chewy. I will definately make these again. Probably one of my favorite bar recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States