Grands!® Easy Taco Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I actually wanted to make these vegetarian so I substituted black beans for the beef and it turned out well! I didn't have any taco seasoning and I didn't have time to make any, so I skipped it and I wish I added it. These are decent and edible, but nothing to write home about. I used a rolling pin to get the biscuits out to a suitable size and that just made a flour-filled mess on my counter, unfortunately. I would probably try these again with more seasoning, though. Served them at a tailgate (cut them in half for a more appetizer-like feel) and they went over well. I dipped mine in some ranch dressing and that helped oomph up the flavor, also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Pretty good!! Made this for a bunch of teenage boys and they scarfed them down. Used loads of cheese, and changed up the filling a little bit...made more of an empanada type filling instead of only salsa, but definitely served with salsa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I wanted to cook my meat first and drain off the fat and got busy and inadvertently added all the salsa to the meat. I didn't read the comments before hand and didn't add taco seasoning. Not a problem, it turned out great with the mistake of adding all the salsa up front. We used a little taco sauce on the top and they were delicious. My hubby said next time do the same thing only add the taco seasoning to see the difference. There is a little meat mixture left which can be put in a tortilla shell for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This has become a new staple in my household!! Just don't forget the taco seasoning or you'll get an entirely different taste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Not gourmet by any means, but I was looking for something fast and easy to use some ground beef and an aging can of Grands biscuits I had. My picky son who can count on one hand the foods he'll eat could not get enough of these! I added about 1/2 packet of taco seasoning and topped them with sour cream. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Made this last night for dinner, but dident want the same old taco tasting thing, sooo, browned the ground beef and added a packet of onion soup mix and a cup of water, let it reduce down so the meat wasent to juicy. followed the recipe as stated with the cheese, no salsa. Turned out yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This recipe is super easy to make. I also added taco seasoning mix, as suggested by many others. My daughter suggested pressing two biscuits together and filling with double the amount. This would probably be a better presentation for the man of the house. We cooked it a few minutes longer. Would recommend this recipe to my other daughter who is moving into her apartment and may need to impress her guests with s tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Loved them and perfect for left over taco meat !! Plus Grands biscuits are good anyway...cold & bye theirselves !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I really have to agree with other reviewers on the taco seasoning. I made half as written and half with seasoning and the seasoned ones was much better. I only added half the taco seasoning packet and mild chunky pace. It had great flavor but still a tad bit dry. Will make these again with maybe tweeks to make them less dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Made them as written and we loved them. I just read the reviews that say add taco seasoning. I did use turkey ground meat in place of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Taco in a Bag

These tacos are so easy to make, and really fun to eat out of the bag.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States