Grands!® Easy Taco Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This recipe tastes amazing! We substituted homemade biscuit dough for the Pillsbury dough, and we also doubled the amount of salsa you put in with the hamburger (though we used ground turkey), so about 1 cup. Most of the reviewers suggest adding taco seasoning, but we actually thought that just adding more salsa made the filling flavorful and gave it a unique taste. We also sprinkled some of the Mexican blend cheese on top of the meat mixture before sealing up the biscuit, and then cooked it at 450 degrees for 10-12 minutes (following the baking directions for the biscuit recipe we used). This was surprisingly tasty, and we would totally make it again. The only thing we would change is we would instead press the biscuit dough into a cupcake pan just to speed up the process of pressing out the dough and filling each one with the hamburger mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
These were simple to make and very tasty! I am a taco purist and like a corn shell or corn tortilla, but I would definitely make these (maybe smaller) for a party appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
These are awesome! I will cook them on parchment paper next time to prevent sticking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This recipe was really easy to follow. I made a bunch of these to take for lunch for the week and this is one lunch week I'm looking forward to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
These were actually much better than I thought they would be, kind of like a taco sandwich. I too used a package of taco seasoning with about 1/2 cup water and made a mistake and put 1 cup medium salsa in meat mixture instead of 1/2 cup but that didn't hurt at all. I also added 1/2 can black beans. Definitely a keeper. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I made these for supper tonight. I did remember to add the taco seasoning as recommended, and also added about 1/4 cup of water so everything would blend smoothly and not be gritty or dry. I doubled the cheese. Everyone agreed they were good, but lacked a little something. I will make them again and maybe add some refried beans and maybe a little bit of onion. I would love to try making these with the cornbread twist dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by QHHUNTERS
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Quick, easy, just not the right texture or flavor for the crust for me. Husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I wish I had read the reviews and realized that the taco seasoning was left off the ingredient list because without it, it was bland. I did try to doctor up the meat and salsa mixture a bit by adding onion powder and melted monterrey jack cheese. The concept is great, and it's easy to make. BUT next time I will use the taco seasoning because as is, it's just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I actually wanted to make these vegetarian so I substituted black beans for the beef and it turned out well! I didn't have any taco seasoning and I didn't have time to make any, so I skipped it and I wish I added it. These are decent and edible, but nothing to write home about. I used a rolling pin to get the biscuits out to a suitable size and that just made a flour-filled mess on my counter, unfortunately. I would probably try these again with more seasoning, though. Served them at a tailgate (cut them in half for a more appetizer-like feel) and they went over well. I dipped mine in some ranch dressing and that helped oomph up the flavor, also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Pretty good!! Made this for a bunch of teenage boys and they scarfed them down. Used loads of cheese, and changed up the filling a little bit...made more of an empanada type filling instead of only salsa, but definitely served with salsa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco in a Bag

These tacos are so easy to make, and really fun to eat out of the bag.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States