Grands!® Cheesy Herb Monkey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Loved this recipe. I'd like to half it and take it to a party,can I cook it ahead and reheat it or do I have to cook it there
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This tasted so good. The problem I found with baking this however is the biscuits on the top cooked too quickly and were a little harder than I would have liked after about 20 minutes of baking. I had to take them out to check if it was ready, the biscuits on the underlayer were still gooey. I think next time I will not layer any bread and just bake it for less. 5 stars if I wouldn't have had the problem with the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This was quite tasty and it cooked up just right in 35 minutes. Very easy to make! I made this recipe exactly as stated, but I can think of many combos of cheese and herbs that would be just as good! I look forward to trying Pillsbury's sweet version for monkey bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mariahsimone
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was very good, but I love seasoning so I upped all seasoning to one teaspoon. Also, I added one teaspoon onion powder and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariahsimone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsboro, Alabama, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Well I was nervous after reading some bad reviews, but I forged ahead. I bought the 16 oz grands which have 8 large biscuits (instead of the 10 oz), so I made adjustments by cutting each biscuit in 6 pieces. I doubled the seasoning amounts though I subbed oregano for the dill.I used about 1/2 cup butter + 2 tablespoons to cover all the rolls. I also tossed the buttered cubes in parmesan. Then I put it all in two layers in a large (approx 9X13) casserole pan with 2 cups mexican blend cheese. Baked perfectly in the rec. time frame. It was a real hit with soup and a tossed green salad. I will defiitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
After reading reviews of the middle not getting cooked, I decided to make this in a different shape to help with cooking. I cut up a can of 8 biscuits into 4 pieces each. I dipped them in the butter and garlic powder, but used onion powder instead of dill. Then I arranged them in a casserole dish in a single layer to help with the cooking process. Tossed on some cheddar and mozzarella and baked for around 12 - 13 minutes. I then added some shredded Parmesan on top when it came out of the oven. I almost skipped the step of dipping them in butter, but I'm glad I didn't because it REALLY made a difference in the finished product. I took this to a tailgate and it was demolished. I served it with some ranch dressing for dipping but no one touched the dressing - everyone just ate the bread as is. I can definitely see how making it in the traditional shape would lead to uncooked biscuit dough but like this is worked perfectly! I've already been asked to make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This recipe was delicious. My family loved it. The only problem I found is that the center of the biscuits didn't cook thoroughly. I had to pull it apart and put it back in the oven for another five minutes. I would definitely make it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
So easy and tastes great. Will make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This recipe is confusing because the can of original biscuits contains 8, not 5 biscuits. At any rate, I used only 1 can of biscuits, minus 1 which was made into a mini pizza at lunch. Since I was using 7 biscuits, I cut the butter and herbs in half, which was just enough to coat each biscuit piece. I also cut each biscuit into 6 pieces rather than 4 as the directions state because I just prefer smaller pieces. I layered them in a loaf pan. As others stated, the biscuits browned before they were actually done. Since I was thinking this might happen, I set the timer for a shorter time period and covered the pan with a tent of aluminum foil for the last 5 minutes of cooking time. If I were to make this again, I would double the herbs to make for a stronger tasting bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I wanted to love this...really I did. It combines three of my favorite things: Bread, herbs, and cheese. What's not to love? Well, for starters, even though we were dipping the dough very lightly in the butter and herb mixture, we ran out after the first can of dough and had to make more for the second can of dough. The baking time was way off as well, leaving completely raw dough in the middle third of the "loaf". I was able to get the monkey bread back into the Bundt pan and returned it to the oven, but by the time the middle was anywhere near cooked, the outside had gotten very crunchy. There wasn't much flavor to this, either, even with the extra butter/herb mixture and I also added extra cheese. I think it might be better if the dough pieces were smaller and perhaps coated in parmesan cheese after being dipped into the butter and herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States