Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Overall this was a good chocolate cake recipe. I'm giving it a 4 out of 5 because I wish it would have been sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This is just like the cake my grandma used to make. The only thing that makes it better is peanutbutter icing (just add peanutbutter to your favorite white icing to taste). It's a perfect combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Very delicious, moist, easy to prepare chocolate cake! We really enjoyed this cake! It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
5 stars for ease of making and the simple ingredients this cake requires. A very versatile and moist chocolate cake. I used only 1 cup sugar as we don't like cakes that are too sweet. We tried it as is and with vanilla ice-cream. The ice-cream made it much more interesting and I was glad that I used only 1 cup sugar as the level of sweetness was just right with the ice-cream. Thanks for the simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Delicious cake! Made this for my dad's birthday the day before and it was a hit when served! I replaced the vegetable oil with applesauce and it turned out moist and yummy! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
My go to chocolate cake! I get compliments every time I serve it! Perfect moisture and not too sweet. I have used coffee as well as substitute the coffee for sour cream. My families birthday cake. (I use Rick's Buttercream Frosting from this site, substituting butter and coconut oil for the Crisco.) Lots of compliments every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ally wilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Serve this cake to family or friends and you will do yourself proud, just as I did tonight. A good rule of thumb is to never try out a new recipe on guests, but this was a real winner. It is easy to whip up, with common pantry ingredients. Deliciously moist and chocolaty, this is very similar to the wildly popular "Black Magic Cake" on this site - but doesn't require the buttermilk. I made this as the recipe directed, using a full teaspoon of salt for the "pinch" called for. I frosted it with Chocolate Frosting II, submitted by LUV2DY4. Good, old-fashioned homestyle chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
for me i didnt like it there are much better chocolate cake recipes on this site i will not be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I converted the recipe to 20 servings and it made a HUGE cake! The taste was phenomenal, it wasn't too sweet and had just the right amount of chocolate. It was really moist and airy. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe!! ****** UPDATE - 11-13-2011 ~ I made this recipe two more times and both times were like the first except that it was moist and dense. But, I noticed that the flavor is a little lacking. It doesn't taste strongly of chocolate. I'm eating a piece right now and the only thing that is saving it is the chocolate frosting on top. I would give this recipe about 2 and a half stars now that I've made it a couple times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nutellapuppy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
this is an outstanding cake recipe. i doubled it with no issues to make a princess castle cake with many layers. the birthday girl is not partial to the flavor of coffee in her cakes, so i dissolved an extra 1/2 cup (for a doubled recipe) of cocoa powder in the hot water instead of using the coffee. this cake was moist and wonderfully chocolately. it was also great to frost - did not give off a lot of crumbs which was great! this will be my new go-to chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States