Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
My kids just loved the cake and decided to decorate it by themselves thanks for the recipe it really works good i added some frosting though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I had to cook this so much longer than the recipe instruction states; maybe because I used a narrow tin and the middle took ages to cook. It was getting very brown on top so I covered it in foil to cook it further without burning it. It was worth the wait. Absolutely delicious, dangerously delicious! I ended up giving some away as I knew I could easily eat the lot in one day!! I halved the ingredients and used a little less liquid plus I covered it with creamy chocolate frosting. Will make again when I crave that chocolate hit - was as good if not better that a professional cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Preferred Chocolate Cake Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
It came out wrong TWICE!!!!!!!!!! Very upset with how it came out, first time 50 minutes rolled by and it still wasnt fully baked!!!! second time same thing so i turned up the heat and it came out falling apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This was fantastic. So wonderfully moist, which lasted for days! I can't wait to make again. I went light on the strength of the coffee, I didn't want to overwhelm the cake with an all coffee flavor, but I barely even tasted it. However, when I make it again, I will increase the strength of the coffee just a bit. Of course this is my preference. This is definitely my go to cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Fierimonte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Definitely the best chocolate cake recipe I've used. Keeping this one for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
moist and tasty, not too sweet which we like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I have not tasted this , but according to the sweet tooth in the house , it is very good and moist . I first made it because it only called for 2 eggs ( we were low ) , and there is always left over coffee . I have made it twice , and both times it turned out great . I bake in a very well greased and floured bundt pan , for about 50 - 70 mins. I don't know what size pan it is . ( my bad ) . No frosting either time . The first one we drizzled with a caramel sauce . The second one just sprinkled with powdered sugar . No fuss . :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I loved this recipe and it was a great winner at a birthday party. Is there a way we can make a white cake just as moist as this chocolate cake. Any help or advise greatly appreciated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Good recipe...very moist. Not very rich chocolate though. It turned out tasting like a devils food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States