Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Serve this cake to family or friends and you will do yourself proud, just as I did tonight. A good rule of thumb is to never try out a new recipe on guests, but this was a real winner. It is easy to whip up, with common pantry ingredients. Deliciously moist and chocolaty, this is very similar to the wildly popular "Black Magic Cake" on this site - but doesn't require the buttermilk. I made this as the recipe directed, using a full teaspoon of salt for the "pinch" called for. I frosted it with Chocolate Frosting II, submitted by LUV2DY4. Good, old-fashioned homestyle chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Excellent, excellent chocolate cake. This is the first cake I've ever made, and it turned out GREAT. It wasn't too sweet and the coffee and cocoa made a great combination! I was a little scared when the batter turned out EXTREMELY thin and smelled strongly of coffee, but in the end it was WONDERFUL. Thanks so much for the recipe! Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobachai

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
This recipe saved the birthday party!! I had originally made another highly recommended recipe (which will remain nameless) that worked find but was totally flavorless (too much boiling water) so i had just enough time to try again and took a chance with this one. It was FANTASTIC, the coffee made the difference, really good flavor. I used decaf, and margerine instead of the oil, and through in some imitation rum to both the batter and buttercream (chocolate) icing. Saved the day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This cake got rave reviews!! I couldn't believe how easy it was to prep. I was worried when it came out of the oven really dark but it was perfect, spongy and moist. I used a different frosting recipe and added some raspberries. Excellent cake - I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Wow! Thanks for a great recipe. I used this with "Coffee Butter Frosting" from this site (increasing the strength of coffee in both) to make a delicous coffee and chocolate cake for my man. I then decorated with chocolate vermicelli. We all licked our lips after this! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I made this for my husband's birthday 3 days ago and the cake is still moist and delicious. Try it with a homemade cream cheese icing....YUM!********** Update (12-2-10): Four years later, this has become my "go to" chocolate cake recipe. My kids ALWAYS request it (with homemade cocoa icing) for every birthday. I've made it over and over, and only once did it "fall", and that was when I switched brands of flour. Needless to say, I ditched that flour and went back to my old brand. Perfect chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This cake is very forgiving because I messed up. UK cup measurements are different to US measurements so I keep a conversion chart I printed off allrecipes taped to the inside of one of my cupboards. Anyway the kids were squabbling behind me and I was distracted and read the conversion chart wrong and put too much oil in. Despite this still turned out to be the best chocolate cake I've made. Will come out regularly on birthdays. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
This cake is fantastically good. It is just like the store bought mud cakes! I made it for my birthday and put ganache icing on top, it was delicious. So moist and nice. Possibly a little too much sugar and I had to cook it for longer than 25 mins, closer to 40 mins. I also added chocolate bits on top of the batter before I cooked it. I thought the coffe being added was strange, but it works a treat! A yummy treat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Very Moist Cake. I had it with caramel icing. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I personally like this cake because it only called for 2 eggs and 1/2 cup of oil in the recipe. The 2 cups of sugar was a bit traumatizing, but maybe it's because I don't really like desserts that are too sweet. I used a hot cocoa mix instead of unsweetened cocoa powder because I didn't have any on hand. So I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, but I think next time maybe 3/4 cup or even 1 cup of sugar. Overall, it was really good, and it's my first time making a cake. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States