Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
This recipe saved the birthday party!! I had originally made another highly recommended recipe (which will remain nameless) that worked find but was totally flavorless (too much boiling water) so i had just enough time to try again and took a chance with this one. It was FANTASTIC, the coffee made the difference, really good flavor. I used decaf, and margerine instead of the oil, and through in some imitation rum to both the batter and buttercream (chocolate) icing. Saved the day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
This cake is really, really good--it's moist and not too sweet. My kids loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
I made this cake with my niece and nephew for my birthday and as we were making it I didn't feel that it would turn out but it turned out very well. I checked the cake and it was finished baking. The cake was delicious and we really enjoyed eating it. I would recommend this cake to anyone. It is not hard to do with children and it is real good. i recommend this to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
This cake is fantastically good. It is just like the store bought mud cakes! I made it for my birthday and put ganache icing on top, it was delicious. So moist and nice. Possibly a little too much sugar and I had to cook it for longer than 25 mins, closer to 40 mins. I also added chocolate bits on top of the batter before I cooked it. I thought the coffe being added was strange, but it works a treat! A yummy treat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
This recipe was really one of the easiest cake recipes ever and mighty tasty to boot. This recipe is virtually identical to "Dark Chocolate Cake II" with the difference of vinegar/vanilla between the two. So I just added both ingredients -- I always thinks vanilla boosts the chocolate flavor, and the vinegar probably made the batter puff up a bit more. My minor modification was to reduce the sugar to about 1-1/4 cups, as 2 cups seemed a bit excessive. The cake still tasted plenty sweet. I layered it with some strawberry sauce -- yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
excellent and easy! Thanks Grandpop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
this cake is great. it turned out perfectly. and it was gone very quickly. i substituted hot chocolate mix for coco, because i ran out half way through. so it wasn't too sweet i took out most of the white sugar. delicious. i'm making it for my friends b-day as we speak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
very nice cake and the ingredients are very easily available........a must keep recipe for coffee lovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICHUSHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cochin, Kerala, India
Living In: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I loved this cake, and so did everyone else who ate it. I was worried at first because the batter was so thin,but it baked up beautiful! the texture was great and the flavor of chocolate and coffee was fabulous! I will make it again. I used the mocha butter frosting recipe that I found on this site that added even more to it's greatness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
This turned out really well. You couldn't taste the coffee, but it had a delicious flavor and moist texture. I didn't think that it would turn out at first. After 25 minutes in the oven it looked like pudding, but I left it for another 10 or 15 and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States