Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Wow! Thanks for a great recipe. I used this with "Coffee Butter Frosting" from this site (increasing the strength of coffee in both) to make a delicous coffee and chocolate cake for my man. I then decorated with chocolate vermicelli. We all licked our lips after this! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This was okay. There was nothing wrong with it but nothing that made me want to have a repeat performance. It wasn't chocolaty, it wasn't coffeeish, it was just blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Very Moist Cake. I had it with caramel icing. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I couldn't decide between a 3 or 4 rating for this cake -- it was ok but nothing great. The recipe is similar to that found at the back of Hershey's cocoa, just with coffee in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I personally like this cake because it only called for 2 eggs and 1/2 cup of oil in the recipe. The 2 cups of sugar was a bit traumatizing, but maybe it's because I don't really like desserts that are too sweet. I used a hot cocoa mix instead of unsweetened cocoa powder because I didn't have any on hand. So I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, but I think next time maybe 3/4 cup or even 1 cup of sugar. Overall, it was really good, and it's my first time making a cake. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I did not like this recipe at all. For some reason, most of my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I made this for my husband's birthday 3 days ago and the cake is still moist and delicious. Try it with a homemade cream cheese icing....YUM!********** Update (12-2-10): Four years later, this has become my "go to" chocolate cake recipe. My kids ALWAYS request it (with homemade cocoa icing) for every birthday. I've made it over and over, and only once did it "fall", and that was when I switched brands of flour. Needless to say, I ditched that flour and went back to my old brand. Perfect chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I enjoyed this cake. I liked it because the coffee cuts the sweetness. I did reduce the sugar like others recommended. I gave half of it to my boyfriend who enjoyed it... so much he woke up in the middle of the night and finished it. I guess it was alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I made this for my daughter's birthday party with a simple butter frosting. All the kids loved it. It was super easy to make. I didn't even use a blender - just a whisk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Excellent, excellent chocolate cake. This is the first cake I've ever made, and it turned out GREAT. It wasn't too sweet and the coffee and cocoa made a great combination! I was a little scared when the batter turned out EXTREMELY thin and smelled strongly of coffee, but in the end it was WONDERFUL. Thanks so much for the recipe! Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobachai

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States