Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Very Moist Cake. I had it with caramel icing. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I couldn't decide between a 3 or 4 rating for this cake -- it was ok but nothing great. The recipe is similar to that found at the back of Hershey's cocoa, just with coffee in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I personally like this cake because it only called for 2 eggs and 1/2 cup of oil in the recipe. The 2 cups of sugar was a bit traumatizing, but maybe it's because I don't really like desserts that are too sweet. I used a hot cocoa mix instead of unsweetened cocoa powder because I didn't have any on hand. So I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, but I think next time maybe 3/4 cup or even 1 cup of sugar. Overall, it was really good, and it's my first time making a cake. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I did not like this recipe at all. For some reason, most of my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I made this for my husband's birthday 3 days ago and the cake is still moist and delicious. Try it with a homemade cream cheese icing....YUM!********** Update (12-2-10): Four years later, this has become my "go to" chocolate cake recipe. My kids ALWAYS request it (with homemade cocoa icing) for every birthday. I've made it over and over, and only once did it "fall", and that was when I switched brands of flour. Needless to say, I ditched that flour and went back to my old brand. Perfect chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I enjoyed this cake. I liked it because the coffee cuts the sweetness. I did reduce the sugar like others recommended. I gave half of it to my boyfriend who enjoyed it... so much he woke up in the middle of the night and finished it. I guess it was alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I made this for my daughter's birthday party with a simple butter frosting. All the kids loved it. It was super easy to make. I didn't even use a blender - just a whisk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Excellent, excellent chocolate cake. This is the first cake I've ever made, and it turned out GREAT. It wasn't too sweet and the coffee and cocoa made a great combination! I was a little scared when the batter turned out EXTREMELY thin and smelled strongly of coffee, but in the end it was WONDERFUL. Thanks so much for the recipe! Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobachai

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This cake is very forgiving because I messed up. UK cup measurements are different to US measurements so I keep a conversion chart I printed off allrecipes taped to the inside of one of my cupboards. Anyway the kids were squabbling behind me and I was distracted and read the conversion chart wrong and put too much oil in. Despite this still turned out to be the best chocolate cake I've made. Will come out regularly on birthdays. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
My very first attempt at making an actual cake, and it turned out great. Thank you for this recipe. It was really delicious. I decreased the sugar by half cup as per previous reviews, and topped it with buttercream frosting II. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States