Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I don't eat chocolate cake but I made it for valentines day for my husband- and he loved it. He kept saying you outdid yourself, I laughed because it was the easiest from scratch recipe I ever made! I made the coffee strong, so I think that it gave the cake a more bold coffee flavor which I like. The only reason it gets 4 stars and not 5 is because it fell apart when I took it out of the pan. I greased it pan, so I don't know why it did that. Maybe it was because it didn't cool enough? I don't know. But well worth trying again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
MMMMMMMMM!! So tasty! Although I don't like coffee in my cakes, so instead I used Sour Cream. Turned out GREAT! I used it in the Betty Crocker ice cream cake thingy. I used Butter Pecan ice cream. YUMMMMM! :) :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarkdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
my aunt first recommended this recipe to me.while my cousin stayed over one day she made it for us,well it was fab!so since than i have made it twice...really it is better than any shop bought chocolate cake i have had.i used one bowl buttercream frosting to fill and top this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
The best recipe ever.. I received many compliments on this cake.. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
this cake is great!i made it for my boyfriend's family and my boyfriend said his whole family finished all the cake in a second!the next day i went to his house his mother even ask me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I truly enjoyed the flavors and texture of this cake. This recipe was quick and easy and it didn't disappoint. I made it for my boyfriend's birthday with chocolate fudge icing and he couldn't have been more pleased. It won't take the place of my mom's chocolate cake, but for a quick in a pinch recipe that doesn't take a lot of time or ingredients, but has a great flavor, this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
YUMMY!! USED FOR 2YR. OLD BIRTHDAY CAKE AND EVERYONE LOVED IT. EVEN GOT A "BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE I'VE EVER HAD" REVIEW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
5 stars for moistness (?), but could do with a bit more chocolatey taste. Then again, the cocoa powder wasn't at its freshest... Kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
THE BEST chocolate cake I've ever had in my life...yes...it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I loved it! It is simple and quick, and at the same time I've used this recipe to experiment and I came up with great ideas! Instead of using 2 eggs, I tried 4 egg whites, I also substituted the cocoa with chopped nuts... It is an awesome recipe for someone who's learning to bake! It was actually the first cake I ever made by my self!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanna R

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States