Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This cake is delicious and moist! I increased the cocoa powder to 1 cup and used hot water instead of coffee. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Oh- My- GOSH! This was by far the BEST chocolate cake I've ever eaten in my LIFE! I made this cake for my husband's birthday, and everyone who ate it said the same thing!! Thank you for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This cake was so yummy! It turned out light and moist. I used weak coffee because a couple people in my family hate coffee, and you can't taste it, it just enhances the chocolate. This was moist and fluffy and EASY...this will be my "go-to" recipe for chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
this cake is wonderful!! it turned out light fluffy and chocolatey!! i didn't add any coffee, i just added more milk, and oil. it soooo good!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperUberGoober :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was possibly the best all around chocolate cake I have ever made. And I have made many. It was easy, it popped right out of the cake pan and was delicious. The only thing missing was the frustration that often accompanies baking cakes! I did leave out the coffee and replaced it with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Could use a little more chocolate flavor. Will add a little more cocoa powder next time. Very moist cake and I received rave reviews. Frosted it with buttercream frosting. Next time, will use a chocolate ganache frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie
Photo by Frenchy
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I had to cook it a little bit longer, that cake was so smooth and moist.My family sais it was the best chocolate cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frenchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pierceland, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I don't eat chocolate cake but I made it for valentines day for my husband- and he loved it. He kept saying you outdid yourself, I laughed because it was the easiest from scratch recipe I ever made! I made the coffee strong, so I think that it gave the cake a more bold coffee flavor which I like. The only reason it gets 4 stars and not 5 is because it fell apart when I took it out of the pan. I greased it pan, so I don't know why it did that. Maybe it was because it didn't cool enough? I don't know. But well worth trying again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
MMMMMMMMM!! So tasty! Although I don't like coffee in my cakes, so instead I used Sour Cream. Turned out GREAT! I used it in the Betty Crocker ice cream cake thingy. I used Butter Pecan ice cream. YUMMMMM! :) :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarkdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
my aunt first recommended this recipe to me.while my cousin stayed over one day she made it for us,well it was fab!so since than i have made it twice...really it is better than any shop bought chocolate cake i have had.i used one bowl buttercream frosting to fill and top this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States