Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
We loved this cake, we forgot the coffee and it turned out just wonderful. Will add coffee the next time. It was a special birthday cake, and it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Uniontown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was my first attempt at making a chocolate cake from scratch and it was great. I was in the mood for a moist airy spongey cake and this was it. I added about 3 tablespoons of sourcream just to make sure that I would have a moist cake. I know that coffee helps to give a more intense chocolate taste. But I will probably use 1/2 cup of coffee next time. Other than that it was a great cake. I didnt even frost it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Organic Nut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This cake is superior. It harkens back to a time when, as a waitress, we added left over coffee from the evening's dinner crowd to the Hershey's syrup topping and it was just as wonderfully tasty as the cake is. Wouldn't change a thing in this recipe. I tried sour cream choco. icing and a nice complement to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillvanberkom
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
An easy and moist chocolate cake--with a kick of caffeine! I made half the recipe and turned it into a mini layer cake. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillvanberkom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This is a very good recipe. I had never made a chocolate cake with coffee before. Chocolate and coffee are two of my fav things, so it makes sense to combine them. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I have finally found THE chocolate cake recipe. I made this for my son's 16th and everyone LOVED it. It is easy to make and tastes amazing!! Super moist. I listened to some of the other reviewers and reduced the sugar to 1 cup. I iced it with the sturdy whipped cream frosting recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Robbinsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This cake was a disaster!! It didn't rise at all..I would give this cake the benefit of doubt because i think my baking soda was really old. But even so it shouldn't have tasted so bland..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This cake is delicious and moist! I increased the cocoa powder to 1 cup and used hot water instead of coffee. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Oh- My- GOSH! This was by far the BEST chocolate cake I've ever eaten in my LIFE! I made this cake for my husband's birthday, and everyone who ate it said the same thing!! Thank you for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This cake was so yummy! It turned out light and moist. I used weak coffee because a couple people in my family hate coffee, and you can't taste it, it just enhances the chocolate. This was moist and fluffy and EASY...this will be my "go-to" recipe for chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States