Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I converted the recipe to 20 servings and it made a HUGE cake! The taste was phenomenal, it wasn't too sweet and had just the right amount of chocolate. It was really moist and airy. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe!! ****** UPDATE - 11-13-2011 ~ I made this recipe two more times and both times were like the first except that it was moist and dense. But, I noticed that the flavor is a little lacking. It doesn't taste strongly of chocolate. I'm eating a piece right now and the only thing that is saving it is the chocolate frosting on top. I would give this recipe about 2 and a half stars now that I've made it a couple times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nutellapuppy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
this is an outstanding cake recipe. i doubled it with no issues to make a princess castle cake with many layers. the birthday girl is not partial to the flavor of coffee in her cakes, so i dissolved an extra 1/2 cup (for a doubled recipe) of cocoa powder in the hot water instead of using the coffee. this cake was moist and wonderfully chocolately. it was also great to frost - did not give off a lot of crumbs which was great! this will be my new go-to chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by jellybeans
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Great recipe, I will definitely used again I did substitute 1 cup of the all-purpose flour with cake flour I was worried when I saw how runny the batter was, but they turned out perfect *update* I've made this recipe about ten times now, the trick is to not overfill the cups using about 1/4 cup batter per cupcake! I also ran out of my dark chocolate powder once and tried to substitute melted baking chocolate the cupcakes ended up dry and mediocre :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jellybeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I just baked it- great! so moist and wonderful! I baked it for a friend's birthday with vanilla icing and ganache filling. I was a bit worried baking for a friend and trying a new recipe. 1.5 x the recipe to make a triple layer cake. I was a bit worried about the coffee, but it really does enhance the flavour... not coffee tasting at all. I will make it again if I need something simple that I can count on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
We loved this cake, we forgot the coffee and it turned out just wonderful. Will add coffee the next time. It was a special birthday cake, and it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Uniontown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was my first attempt at making a chocolate cake from scratch and it was great. I was in the mood for a moist airy spongey cake and this was it. I added about 3 tablespoons of sourcream just to make sure that I would have a moist cake. I know that coffee helps to give a more intense chocolate taste. But I will probably use 1/2 cup of coffee next time. Other than that it was a great cake. I didnt even frost it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Organic Nut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This cake is superior. It harkens back to a time when, as a waitress, we added left over coffee from the evening's dinner crowd to the Hershey's syrup topping and it was just as wonderfully tasty as the cake is. Wouldn't change a thing in this recipe. I tried sour cream choco. icing and a nice complement to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillvanberkom
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
An easy and moist chocolate cake--with a kick of caffeine! I made half the recipe and turned it into a mini layer cake. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillvanberkom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This is a very good recipe. I had never made a chocolate cake with coffee before. Chocolate and coffee are two of my fav things, so it makes sense to combine them. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I have finally found THE chocolate cake recipe. I made this for my son's 16th and everyone LOVED it. It is easy to make and tastes amazing!! Super moist. I listened to some of the other reviewers and reduced the sugar to 1 cup. I iced it with the sturdy whipped cream frosting recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Robbinsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States