Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
A truly excellent chocolate cake, in that it's easy to throw together with items you are likely to have in your pantry, in flavor, which is deep and round due to the coffee which can't be tasted but which brings out all the best in chocolate, and in texture, which is moist. It is everything that your grandma's chocolate cake brings to mind. I needed to serve several people, so I baked it in a 15"X10" jelly roll pan or cookie sheet, and was surprised that there was too much batter to fit. I baked the remainder as 6 cupcakes. The sheet cake was baked to perfection in 22 minutes, the cupcakes in 18. Topped both the cake and cupcakes with a glossy cross between a glaze and a frosting, consisting of 4 Tb cocoa, 1/2 a stick of butter and 6 Tb milk heated just until boiling, then combined with 4 cups powdered sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla, all poured over the hot cakes. Next time I need a big cake, I'll put all of it into an 11"X17" jelly roll pan, and it will fit the full recipe perfectly. Thank you for a keeper that I'll turn to again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE EVER. We have made this cake twice.....and are making it again today. It goes amazing with chocolate ganache!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I baked this cake with the recommended frosting. The frosting leave much to be desired, as does the cake itself. I will be deleting both from my recipe box immediately. What a disappointment. I spent all afternoon on this cake and my daughters were looking forward to yet another one of my fabulous creations, only to be upset and disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leen101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lorin Elise
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
EXCELLENT cake recipe! And so easy! I made a mini version for my boyfriend's birthday...I halved the recipe; used Ghirardelli cocoa and a little extra vanilla. I baked the layers in 5" springform pans, it made four total layers at 25 min in the oven. Perfection! I will absolutely be making this again, the cake is divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorin Elise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Overall this was a good chocolate cake recipe. I'm giving it a 4 out of 5 because I wish it would have been sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This is just like the cake my grandma used to make. The only thing that makes it better is peanutbutter icing (just add peanutbutter to your favorite white icing to taste). It's a perfect combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Very delicious, moist, easy to prepare chocolate cake! We really enjoyed this cake! It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
5 stars for ease of making and the simple ingredients this cake requires. A very versatile and moist chocolate cake. I used only 1 cup sugar as we don't like cakes that are too sweet. We tried it as is and with vanilla ice-cream. The ice-cream made it much more interesting and I was glad that I used only 1 cup sugar as the level of sweetness was just right with the ice-cream. Thanks for the simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Delicious cake! Made this for my dad's birthday the day before and it was a hit when served! I replaced the vegetable oil with applesauce and it turned out moist and yummy! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
My go to chocolate cake! I get compliments every time I serve it! Perfect moisture and not too sweet. I have used coffee as well as substitute the coffee for sour cream. My families birthday cake. (I use Rick's Buttercream Frosting from this site, substituting butter and coconut oil for the Crisco.) Lots of compliments every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ally wilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States