Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I tried it its really good with white icing and milk chocolate chips as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This cake is incredibly quick and easy to prep (compared to other scratch cakes). Since it is oil-based, it is the perfect cake to make if you are trying to surprise someone sleeping in the same house; you can make this cake very quietly without an electric mixer. It is very moist and delicious, and doesn't stick to the pan like other butter-based cakes that seem to take a lot more work. I frosted it with vanilla buttercream frosting by doing a "crumb coat" first since the crumbs are very dark (i.e., thinly frosting the cake, freezing it a little, and then frosting it thickly once the crumb coat hardened somewhat). My office thought the cake was very delicious and every crumb was gone in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This is an excellent cake, just like the one that my grandmother use to make. I did add 1 cup of buttermilk and very strong coffee. I baked it in a bundt pan which took about 50 minutes. This one is a keeper. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This is by far the best chocolate cake I have ever baked! It is VERY moist and so easy to put together. I followed the recipe to the letter, except I baked it in three nine-inch cake pans. There is no need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I live with a chocoholic (or two), and this is THE BEST chocolate cake we've ever tasted. Moist. Flavorful. Rich. Satisfying. Totally worth the calories, and VERY easy to make. This is my new go-to recipe. I served this with homemade coconut-pecan frosting (German Chocolate Cake frosting). Tasted like we bought a $10 slice of patisserie confection! Make this recipe exactly as written--no need to get creative. Use fresh ingredients, bake as directed. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonroeMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Wow, the topping was perfect. You can add some chopped walnuts or almond in the batter. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Delicious! I had to have lots of milk with me to eat it because it was so chocolaty. Great recipe. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
The best chocolate cake recipe ever. So moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This cake is very easy to make and is extremely delicious and moist. I made up an icing with 1 stick of butter, 4 oz. cream cheese, about 1 1/2 pounds of powdered sugar, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 4 tbs. cocoa and about 3 tablespoons of dark coffee. It was to die for. I made it for Easter dinner and everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
My first real cake from scratch and what a great success! Used microwave heated morning's leftover coffee in the evening when I made it. Was worried that it might take on the "old coffee" taste, but no worries at all. The taste of the coffee evaporated, even though it is strong in the raw dough. Wonderful cake. Made up my own frosting with cream cheese, cocoa powder, vanilla extract, butter and powdered sugar to taste. Probably a similar recipe somewhere here, but wanted to figure out my own because of the luscious goodness of this cake. Made one layer of frosting very dark and chocolately and the other light chocolate, then swirled the knife around on the top. Looked like a cake from the bakery and taste oh-so-much better. Served it to Europeans last night, most of whom had never had an American cake. Everyone went wild for it. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States