Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I live with a chocoholic (or two), and this is THE BEST chocolate cake we've ever tasted. Moist. Flavorful. Rich. Satisfying. Totally worth the calories, and VERY easy to make. This is my new go-to recipe. I served this with homemade coconut-pecan frosting (German Chocolate Cake frosting). Tasted like we bought a $10 slice of patisserie confection! Make this recipe exactly as written--no need to get creative. Use fresh ingredients, bake as directed. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonroeMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Wow, the topping was perfect. You can add some chopped walnuts or almond in the batter. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Delicious! I had to have lots of milk with me to eat it because it was so chocolaty. Great recipe. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
The best chocolate cake recipe ever. So moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This cake is very easy to make and is extremely delicious and moist. I made up an icing with 1 stick of butter, 4 oz. cream cheese, about 1 1/2 pounds of powdered sugar, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 4 tbs. cocoa and about 3 tablespoons of dark coffee. It was to die for. I made it for Easter dinner and everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
My first real cake from scratch and what a great success! Used microwave heated morning's leftover coffee in the evening when I made it. Was worried that it might take on the "old coffee" taste, but no worries at all. The taste of the coffee evaporated, even though it is strong in the raw dough. Wonderful cake. Made up my own frosting with cream cheese, cocoa powder, vanilla extract, butter and powdered sugar to taste. Probably a similar recipe somewhere here, but wanted to figure out my own because of the luscious goodness of this cake. Made one layer of frosting very dark and chocolately and the other light chocolate, then swirled the knife around on the top. Looked like a cake from the bakery and taste oh-so-much better. Served it to Europeans last night, most of whom had never had an American cake. Everyone went wild for it. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
A truly excellent chocolate cake, in that it's easy to throw together with items you are likely to have in your pantry, in flavor, which is deep and round due to the coffee which can't be tasted but which brings out all the best in chocolate, and in texture, which is moist. It is everything that your grandma's chocolate cake brings to mind. I needed to serve several people, so I baked it in a 15"X10" jelly roll pan or cookie sheet, and was surprised that there was too much batter to fit. I baked the remainder as 6 cupcakes. The sheet cake was baked to perfection in 22 minutes, the cupcakes in 18. Topped both the cake and cupcakes with a glossy cross between a glaze and a frosting, consisting of 4 Tb cocoa, 1/2 a stick of butter and 6 Tb milk heated just until boiling, then combined with 4 cups powdered sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla, all poured over the hot cakes. Next time I need a big cake, I'll put all of it into an 11"X17" jelly roll pan, and it will fit the full recipe perfectly. Thank you for a keeper that I'll turn to again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE EVER. We have made this cake twice.....and are making it again today. It goes amazing with chocolate ganache!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I baked this cake with the recommended frosting. The frosting leave much to be desired, as does the cake itself. I will be deleting both from my recipe box immediately. What a disappointment. I spent all afternoon on this cake and my daughters were looking forward to yet another one of my fabulous creations, only to be upset and disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leen101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lorin Elise
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
EXCELLENT cake recipe! And so easy! I made a mini version for my boyfriend's birthday...I halved the recipe; used Ghirardelli cocoa and a little extra vanilla. I baked the layers in 5" springform pans, it made four total layers at 25 min in the oven. Perfection! I will absolutely be making this again, the cake is divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorin Elise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States