Grandpop's Special Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I used one 10 1/2 inch pan and baked for five minutes longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Amazing recipe! I do not like coffee so I did it without the coffee and it was amazing. It was delicious and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikayla Udy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
Perfect! I was looking for a cake to make for my daughter's birthday party and this was exactly what I wanted. I made the cake exactly as is, and it was moist and delicious. I added chocolate frosting, but next time I will use vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Made as written. It is very moist and chocolatey. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassandra
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Yes I doubled the recipe and added an extra tsp of vanilla and I also added an extra half a cup of vegetable oil. The cake was very moist and you can mess it up .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Well grandpop sure knows his way around the kitchen! My family loves this cake!... I made it for an office party at my mothers work and she said her co workers raved about this cake! Grandpop you got a good thing going here. Thank you for sharing it with my family. I plan to keep this recipe around for generations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This is the best chocolate recipe I have EVER made from scratch. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. I made it for my birthday and everyone loved it!!! So easy to make with such simple ingredients, but the best flavor imaginable. This is my favorite cake recipe and is a must try. Thanks to whoever put this recipe on allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This recipe creates the most awesome cake! I followed recipe amounts substituting cake flour for the AP, and unsalted, butter for the oil, as these are what on hand. Plus i cut the sugar to 1 1/4 cups instead of the two called for, we thought it was penty sweet, especially when paired with a chocolate buttercream frosting. I have been searching for a cake recipe from scratch that would produce a moist, light, fluffy cake (i hate dense baked goods) and this is by Far the best scratch recipe i have ever used! It will be my number one cake recipe from now on ! I am thinking i could use this recipe for other flavors, that is my next baking project- adapting these ingredients seeing if i can turn this into a multi use go to batter. For new bakers this recipe is a definite must, it's very forgiven with great results, what more could any baker want to boost their confidence. Instant gratification!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Excellent! I was a little worried because the batter was very thin, however, it baked beautifully and was so easy! Not to mention delisous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I have mixed feelings about this cake. The first time I made it I baked it in a 13x9 inch pan. It overflowed all over my oven. In spite of that, it was delicious in the end. Today I made it in 2 8 inch layers, but put it on a cookie sheet, just in case. It is currently in the oven and has overflowed the pans again. What am I doing wrong? I can only hope that the cake ends up cooked and edible. I followed the recipe as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States