Grandpa's Tomato Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This is awesome stuff. My children (who are not picky eaters) loved it and so did I. We added mushrooms for fun since I was out of onions. I also used fresh tomatoes for the diced tomatoes and serve it over tinkyada rotini noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Thank you for posting this, Bud. My father in law actually made this for me when my husband and I started dating (and he made it for my husband growing up) and I didn't ask him how he made it before he passed. My husband asks about this quite often but I didn't know how to make it. This is EXACTLY how he made it, only he added a little "green" spice I didn't catch. I did add a half tsp. each of basil and oregano and that was it exactly. I only had a small taste but my husband and kids ate almost all of it over parmesan noodles. You made our day. And sometimes, it's really the simplest things that get you every time. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
There's something really timeless about tomato gravy which is not the same thing as marinara sauce. The flavors meld together with the long simmer and it's wonderful. I personally like to use the diced fire roasted tomatoes in this sauce. Wonderful and simple. Thanks Bud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Good, but a little "too much"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This is a very good recipe! I had all I could do to keep my spoon out of it while it was cooking. I thought the texture was very smooth on the tongue. M”Lady gave it a definite large 5 stars, and I concur wholeheartedly. I’m thinking of adding some oregano and garlic, and trying it as a spaghetti sauce. It’s definitely a recipe to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Juneau, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is terrific! I made it tonight along with meatloaf, rice, and biscuits and it was wonderful with all of them. I asked my hubby how he would rate it and he said 10 stars (: Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us Bud, I will definitely be making this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I made half the recipe and put it over almost stale Italian bread. The only thing I did was add a bit of basil. Great red gravy or sauce or whatever you want to call it. Will make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
What a great recipe!I made it this evening and served it over rice and meatloaf.Wow what a great way to jazz up rice.I loved it!I will make this again.Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fable37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Yum! Tried this over pasta (halved the recipe and used less onion) and it was great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States