Grandpa's Peanut Butter Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Peanut butter fudge has always been a tradition in our family, but when my great-grandmother died, the recipe was lost. Of all the recipes I have tried, this tastes the closest to what she made. I did however make changes. I do not add the peanut butter to the boiling mixture, I boil the sugar/milk on medium/high until it reaches soft ball stage (around 234 degrees); use a candy thermometer. I would not recommend just guessing with the soft ball stage unless you are truly a professional- fudge is extremely fickle and can turn out or not for even the most seasoned baker. As soon as that stage is reached, immediately take it off the stove and add the peanut butter/vanilla. I mixed with a regular mixer on low for around 6 minutes and it turned out perfect. Great recipe, the best I have found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
WONDERFUL! Rich, creamy and so peanut buttery! Yum! Side note, I used my Kitchenaid mixer and let it beat on 2 for 15 minutes. Heck of a lot easier that way. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I was looking for a peanut butter fudge recipe that was a "boil to the soft ball stage" and had no marshmallow creme in it. This was it. The added bonuses are that it is quick and easy. Thanks for sharing your Grandpa's recipe. Ida
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was delicious!! I made it at home and my grandma loved it. It's hard to beat her peanut butter fudge, but I think I did. We just got back from N. Carolina and the family loved it!! It didn't last long so I had to make more. Here are some things that I did that you might try: If using Jiff peanut butter or any peanut butter that is a little more stiff and not so oily, add about 1/2 cup extra of peanut butter and a but more butter than called for. This will make it more creamy and smooth. I also add a bag of Peanut Butter Chips to the mix right before I pour it out so they don't melt all the way. This adds more flavor and gives you something to chew. I reserved a handful of the chips to sprinkle on top of the fudge and lightly pressed them down into the top. When using a pan to boil the fudge make sure it is a burn proof pan. I made the mistake of using a pan that wasn't scorch proof and it changes the flavor. Also, don't let the fudge get too stiff when you are stiring it to cool it down before you pour it, keep it a little more soft so that it pours easily and spreads evenly. This fudge tastes better if you let it set for about 3 days in an air tight container at room temperature. By this time it has had time to marinate and is much creamier. In N. Carolina the fudge didn't even get a chance to sit for a few days. I hope this helps. Thanks for a great recipe, I will be making this again and again. Especially when the holiday's come around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Oh, wow. This is just about perfect fudge. I poured it into a 7 x 11 pan and it made a ton, enough to make Christmas presents for three people. Everyone loved it. Sweet, creamy, rich, peanut buttery. I used crunchy peanut butter, which I think was a bad decision, as it interrupted the texture in a way I didn't like. Next time, I'll use creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I've never had peanut butter fudge so this was a nice surprise. After seeing that some reviewers ended up with hard, gritty fudge, I was worried about over cooking this, so I cooked it to 240 degrees on my candy thermometer and it was too soft. Perhaps a specific temperature would help people obtain the right fudge consistency. I don't know what it is, but it's more than 240 :) Anyhow, I ended up with a substance that tasted like and was the same consistency as peanut butter cookie dough. This recipe yields alot, it made a 7x11" pan and probably could be stretched to a 9x13" too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Absolutely excellent. I threw in a spoonful of cocoa powder to make it extra rich. MMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Before making this you should read what the others have shared as an easier route. I did this and found it very helpful. Make sure you have a candy thermometor and bring your mixture to an soft ball between temp. 235 no more than 240. Also an helpful hint was to spray your pot very lightly with a cooking spray along with your stir spoon of choice, this was a great tool. the sugar will stick to the side of your pan as it boils so this helps after cooking for an easier clean up. Once your mix is to temp. have your kitchen aid ready to go with the butter and vanilla and add your hot mixture to that and turn to speed 2 or 3 and check on it every 2 minutes to see is your mix is getting hard. I found in my kitchen aid the time was 14 minutes. Then I spread the mix on a wax paper lined (also spray very lightly with baking spray) smaller baking sheet. I left out on my counter until it was completly cooled, I lifted the wax paper and I cut into bit size pieces (using my pizza cutter) verses larger so I can gift out as gifts, using the smaller pans makes it thicker so if you cut small pieces you still get just enough in your mouth for a perfect bite. I freeze it until ready to hand out and it turns out perfect! Tastes great! You have to be willing to take the time this recipe needs, if you want to be quick in and out then try another recipe. I think some things don't need to be rushed and this is one of them. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This fudge is awesome. It's one of the best peanut butter fudge recipes I've made. If you're high altitude, be sure to get the mixture to "soft ball" stage - it might take a little longer. I had to mix 'vigorously' for quite a while, but the end result was scrumptous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This fudge is absolutely phenomenal. I was skeptical that the syrup mixture wouldn't cream up, but I put it in my Kitchen Aid along with the peanut butter and butter (the only substitute I used) and vanilla - it was great, I didn't time how long I had it beating but it was at least 6 minutes and then I poured it into a 9x13 pan. I can't stop eating it, in fact I need to make more because it's part of the goodie trays for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States