Grandpa's Peanut Butter Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Thank you for your grandpa's peanut butter fudge recipe...it is hard to type this while I eat it! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ade

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Festus, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I made this today instead of my regular recipe except I used crunchy P.B.instead of smooth. I'm an old time believer that cooked candies are much better than "easy recipe"candies and this is a good example. It came out great. Not too sweet or heavy.Will definetly use it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This fudge is absolutely phenomenal. I was skeptical that the syrup mixture wouldn't cream up, but I put it in my Kitchen Aid along with the peanut butter and butter (the only substitute I used) and vanilla - it was great, I didn't time how long I had it beating but it was at least 6 minutes and then I poured it into a 9x13 pan. I can't stop eating it, in fact I need to make more because it's part of the goodie trays for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
The flavor of this fudge is absolutely perfect. So "peanut buttery." I used a candy thermometer, and boiled to the softball stage. Mine turned out a little bit grainy. When I searched the internet, I found that once it reaches softball stage, fudge shouldn't be stirred again until the temperature drops to 110 F degrees. Crystals are important to fudge, but they start too soon if the fudge is stirred early. Next time, I will try this approach. A keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
thanks my dad used to love this wen he was growing up buh since his grandpa died he hasnt had it and this was te only thing he looked forward to for christmas and now i get to bring him back the holiday he will remember :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Before making this you should read what the others have shared as an easier route. I did this and found it very helpful. Make sure you have a candy thermometor and bring your mixture to an soft ball between temp. 235 no more than 240. Also an helpful hint was to spray your pot very lightly with a cooking spray along with your stir spoon of choice, this was a great tool. the sugar will stick to the side of your pan as it boils so this helps after cooking for an easier clean up. Once your mix is to temp. have your kitchen aid ready to go with the butter and vanilla and add your hot mixture to that and turn to speed 2 or 3 and check on it every 2 minutes to see is your mix is getting hard. I found in my kitchen aid the time was 14 minutes. Then I spread the mix on a wax paper lined (also spray very lightly with baking spray) smaller baking sheet. I left out on my counter until it was completly cooled, I lifted the wax paper and I cut into bit size pieces (using my pizza cutter) verses larger so I can gift out as gifts, using the smaller pans makes it thicker so if you cut small pieces you still get just enough in your mouth for a perfect bite. I freeze it until ready to hand out and it turns out perfect! Tastes great! You have to be willing to take the time this recipe needs, if you want to be quick in and out then try another recipe. I think some things don't need to be rushed and this is one of them. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
READ Reviews before making. This is great. I only gave it 4 stars though, because if you don't follow previous advise (boil to 234 to 240 degrees) this comes out very grainy. Also the use of a mixer for the last 3 ingredients (peanut butter, butter & vanilla) is a time saver on your arms. I made my first batch as written, and threw it out. Made the 2nd batch from reviews, and it is GREAT :) If you don't have a thermometer (mine is digital) bring to a GOOD boil, then keep boiling for a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Best peanut butter fudge I've ever made. Everyone loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Very grainy, not sure if I did something wrong, but I don't think so. Also lacking in PB flavor, for such a large yield.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This is a great recipe for fudge beginners. I did use whipping cream instead of milk only because I wanted to use it up what I had on hand. Not a big deal. Anyone making fudge, really let the mix boil and stir. You'll see the mix thicken and go from grainy to smooth as water evaporates and the sugar dissolves. Just be patient. Before I start making fudge I spray my wooden spoons with cooking spray as well as wipe the pot with cooking spray to keep any undissolved sugar from sticking around (which leads to fudge not setting). I also pour heated ingredients into another pot over butter and vanilla. And stir low heat like a mad woman. Those are my lucky rituals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States