Grandpa's Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This was pretty good and quick. I did not have regular ranch dressing mix, so I used HVR Fiesta Ranch Dip Mix (it is a little saltier, though). I also gave it a good squirt of lemon juice. I cut the avocado in small pieces instead of mashing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was pretty good for a change of pace. It doesn't really have any "kick" to it so I added some finely chopped onion and tomato, plus a little chili pepper seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This dip was super easy, and if you like ranch as much as I do, you'll love it. Very creamy, and I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rena
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Very very "ranchy" - if you like ranch dressing ALOT, you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This was on the bland side. I had to add a lot of spices to give it flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I tried 3 different recipes to see which one I liked the best. This one was really nice. One of the other recipes asked for 7 ingredients. This one was just as good if not better with only 3 incredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This guacamole was very bland; it pretty much tasted like sour cream. I added some lime juice and chili powder to give it more of a kick, but it was still pretty tasteless. Sorry, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was okay, a little bland, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I loved it. It took me two minutes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renay Langley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe for "quick" avocado dip. This would be okay for a "what do I prepare?" for the office party. There are one or two drawbacks; one it is a bit salty for our tastes so backing off the Ranch dressing is in order; and two it could use a couple ounces of a good Salsa or Pico de Gallo. I'll try it again that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chunky Paleo Guacamole

A chunky-style guacamole with diced jalapenos, garlic, and tomatoes.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States