Grandpa's Classic Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
excellent, made just as written. Would also be good as a sloppy joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I've never had a coney dog but love chili dogs & even tho this was different it was really a great topper. I made a half batch on the stove top then put it into a slow cooker & after cooking on high about an hour I used a hand blender to make it as puréed as possible. Even tho it looked done I wanted to keep it warm so I set it on low but after an hour of that it dried it out. Next time I'm just going to cook it on the stove top then maybe simmer it for half an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwrightwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Love, love, love this recipe! I see by the reviews that many Americans don't know the difference between chili dogs and coney dogs. People this is not a chili dog recipe. No chili powder should ever come near this recipe and it should not taste like you opened a can of that foul chili stuff made by Armour. This is a sweet recipe that covered coney dogs at the root beer drive-in when I was a little girl (45-50 years ago). Grandpa you rock! This is the recipe I've been trying to find for the last three decades. I followed the recipe to the letter and tasted it and thought oh no this is disgusting. I went ahead and added the cooked hamburger/onion mixture and plugged the crockpot in on low. To my utter delight what I tasted two hours later was a trip down memory lane. This is the holy grail of coney dog recipes. My family ate every bite of this recipe and clamored for more. I will be making another batch for 4th of July festivities and I will be adding it to all summer holidays. I can't wait to feed it to guests and extended family members who can reach back to the days when coney dogs ruled the drive ins! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This is a very good coney dog recipe. I see some people are confusing it with chili dog recipe. I made it exactly to the recipe. And i thought it was very good. I used a leaner ground chuck, I would think I would increase the amount of meat if i used a fattier hamburger. But we all liked it and will make it again !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Have never had a coney before, enjoyed very much. Followed the recipe measurements to a T and put in the crockpot for almost 7 hours (little longer than I intended, but we had a fun day at the zoo!). DBF said they tasted ok too, he grew up eating them in MI...DS was not a fan but he does not really like hot dogs. Crock potting for so long pretty much made the onions disappear and my burger was in pretty fine chunks so it was a nice smooth sauce. I had to add some Dijon to mine because otherwise it's not a hot dog to me. Yum, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Really good! I've always bought the can chili for chili dogs but wanted to try something different. This was very good! Kinda sweet and hubby said it would be good as sloppy joes too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
My husband grew up in Michigan. The first stop when visiting was always the local Coney Shop. This recipe nailed it. He absolutely loved them,and so did I. I cut down on the ketchup because it seemed like it would have been too sweet Otherwise, as the recipe is written, deeelicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This is really good but I might cut the sugar a bit next time since I used a number one name brand catsup that is much sweeter than other brands. Good flavor and exactly what I have been looking for! This would be good to freeze and have on hand. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I am so glad i found this recipe. We go every year to a coney place by our house when it opens in the spring. But this year the coneys were not as tasty as years past. I found this recipe and now everyone was happy. I did add a little more Worcester to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States