Grandpa McAndrew's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
Please ADD SALT, a little will do you just fine. The first time I made this it was a total flop. One dash of salt could have saved this recipe. Second attempt with 1/2 teaspoon of salt, MUCH BETTER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Yummy! This one was so incredibly quick and tastes great. I actually didn't have buttermilk so I substituted 1 cup plain yogurt (what the Joy of Cooking suggests as a substitution).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Well, Grandpa McAndrew must've been one heck of a guy, because this is one heck of a good Irish Soda Bread! I do however think that when "Mom" was copying down the recipe she did forget to add the salt...a little bit is all you need. I chose to add 1/2 tsp. I like my soda breads a little sweeter, so I doubled the amount of sugar to 1/4 cup. After I formed the bread I lightly scored it and brushed it with an egg wash. I popped it the oven on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and baked it at 375 for about 45 minutes. This is a great recipe for traditional Irish soda bread - perfect warm with butter served with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe and it came out perfectly with the additions from the two prior reviews. However I did something else different....since i cannot eat eggs, I substituted 1 tablespoon of baking powder, 1 tablespoon water, and 1 tablespoon vegetable oil instead of using the one egg....it was WONDERFUL!!!! Thanks guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
This recipe was extremely easy and took very little time. It was too powdery looking, but tasted okay. I made another one using 3tbls of margarine. It looks better but I believe brushing the top with egg white and water would give it a glazed appearance. It is very heavy and slightly sweet. I served mine with whipped cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
A perfect, fast recipe. I've made it twice and it's been great both times. I usually like to fool around with ingredients but there's no need to with this one. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This is a very easy to make, wonderfully moist bread! I topped the bread with a melted butter & powdered sugar frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
I used olive oil instead of margarine, and soy milk instead of the buttermilk. I also added salt, and it was pretty good! We ate almost the whole loaf right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Sent looking for a simple irish soda bread minus the carroway seads (sp) but with raisens and this one fit the requirements. Used golden raisins just because that is my preferance in baking..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
very good look forward to making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States