Grandpa McAndrew's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I think I might have done something wrong cause it turned out to flat. I'll have to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I discovered this recipe years ago and cannot tell you how many times I have baked it for my husband and friends (me, to!). My husband has spent time working in Ireland and finds this to be rather authentic. It is one of our favorite Sunday breakfast foods and for anytime we want a taste of Ireland. Thank you for another wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
With the 1/2tsp of salt, this has now become my standard recipe for this bread. It's perfect! Dense, smooth, rich, looks beautiful and rustic, and of course tastes delish. Thanks Grandpa McAndrew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
pretty goods, but i rather like the ones that you must leave to rise frist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I didn't have a skillet, or proper pan to cook this in, so I just formed it the best I could and baked it on a cookie sheet. It was tasty enough, but a bit flaky, like a biscuit. Didn't seem to have the dense quality of the usual Irish soda bread. I added some caraway seeds, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by testarossa11
Home Town: High Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
A couple of others said this did not taste like Irish soda bread. Having never tried Irish soda bread, I can't comment on that, but it was very good. The only changes I made were to put in a few more raisins, 1/2 t. salt and I baked it on a pre-heated pizza stone. I hate to admit it, but my wife and I ate half of it for dinner last night and the rest of it toasted for breakfast this morning. Possibly the best bread I have ever made and so easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I added a wee bit of salt and used dried chopped apricots and prunes instead of raisins. Very yummy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
VERY good. I loved this recipe. I added more raisins- it was super tasty. If you have leftovers heat the slices up in the microwave for 20-30 seconds; tastes just like it is out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Yummy yummy yummy! I made this for St Patrick's day but it was so easy I could pretty much whip it up any time I wanted it. It had a really simple flavor that could go well with many different things, we ate it with butter and jam, it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Excellent and easy! I get lots of compliments on this each time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delaware, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States