Grandpa McAndrew's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This recipe was extremely easy, but pretty bland. This was my first time making Irish soda bread, so I don't know what it traditionally tastes like, but I sure wasn't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Thanks for sharing this recipe! Dried red currants and golden raisins were reconstituted in hot water for 20-30 minutes, drained well, added to the flour mix, and the flavoured water reserved to adjust the consistency of the dough, as needed. Next loaf will include toasted and finely chopped hazelnuts. Thanks again for the share, Grandad McAndrew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This bread turned out great- heavy and dense the way its supposed to be. I added a cup of golden raisins and 1/2 tsp. of salt. If you don't have buttermilk, you can substitute. Use a one cup measure, add 1 tablespoon of lemon juice or winegar, fill with milk and let stand for 5 minutes. I had to have a slice while it was still warm with melting butter. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I have used chopped walnuts instead and sometimes with, the raisins (great way to get rid of the old snack packs from kid's lunches)... it always turns out just what I wanted in a heavier soda bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuldaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Charleroi, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I think I might have done something wrong cause it turned out to flat. I'll have to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I discovered this recipe years ago and cannot tell you how many times I have baked it for my husband and friends (me, to!). My husband has spent time working in Ireland and finds this to be rather authentic. It is one of our favorite Sunday breakfast foods and for anytime we want a taste of Ireland. Thank you for another wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
With the 1/2tsp of salt, this has now become my standard recipe for this bread. It's perfect! Dense, smooth, rich, looks beautiful and rustic, and of course tastes delish. Thanks Grandpa McAndrew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
pretty goods, but i rather like the ones that you must leave to rise frist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I didn't have a skillet, or proper pan to cook this in, so I just formed it the best I could and baked it on a cookie sheet. It was tasty enough, but a bit flaky, like a biscuit. Didn't seem to have the dense quality of the usual Irish soda bread. I added some caraway seeds, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by testarossa11
Home Town: High Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
A couple of others said this did not taste like Irish soda bread. Having never tried Irish soda bread, I can't comment on that, but it was very good. The only changes I made were to put in a few more raisins, 1/2 t. salt and I baked it on a pre-heated pizza stone. I hate to admit it, but my wife and I ate half of it for dinner last night and the rest of it toasted for breakfast this morning. Possibly the best bread I have ever made and so easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States