Grandpa McAndrew's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
what a wonderful recipe! next time i will add a little salt, besides that i wouldnt change a thing. thank you grandpa mcandrew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
great bread recommend cooking alittle longer than an hr if cooking in loaf pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mairin gonzales

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Thought this was a great recipe. A few tweeks I did was doubled the sugar, 3/4t.salt, 1/2c. walnuts, 1/2c. Craisins. Even my grandson liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I followed this recipe almost to the letter (plus the 1/2 t salt recommended by someone and using both currants and raisins) and it was just blah. I'm not sure why people have liked this so much - heavy and tasteless. It's edible with butter and jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
My first problem was that I seemed to have about a full cup too much flour. Maybe I messed that up somehow, I sometimes amaze myself. I used Craisins instead of raisins, which I liked. I also added salt, as suggested. And instead of using buttermilk, I chose plain greek yogurt, which I'm guessing is why my dough was too dry. I managed to salvage most of the dough, and I really enjoyed what remained. I liked my mediocre version enough to try it once more, with buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by br00kli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
My husband made this for our weekend get together with friends, left out the rasins in order not to mess with the flavor of the Irish Stew. Everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I used 1 cup of plain yogurt in place of the buttermilk. This recipe is very, very tasty. It's the one I will use all the time now. We go through the whole loaf in one meal every time. Thanks for capturing the ingredients for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I made this for the first time this St. Patrick's Day and it was great. It was easy to make and tasted delicious. The only thing is I needed about 1/2 cup more flour than directed. The dough was much too runny to try to knead, but after adding more flour, it was perfect. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Neither I nor hubs had ever tried Irish Soda Bread until now, nor have I ever made it. Now that we have, we differ in our opinions. I thought it heavy, with a dense crumb and flat taste, which didn't appeal to me. In addition, I noticed the recipe lacked salt. I meant to add some but forgot, and its absence was noticeable to me. I think it would have definitely heightened the flavor. Certainly no fault of the recipe, but I now know I'm not a huge fan of Irish Soda Bread, although it did make a pretty loaf. On the other hand, hubs said he didn't miss the salt, and loved the different texture of the bread. He also liked the slight tang and sweetness. He said Grandpa McAndrew had a darn fine recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States