Grandpa McAndrew's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Tastes pretty good. It didn't rise either time I made it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Loved this - baked it in a 8" cake pan. I added another tablespoon sugar since my husband likes things on the sweet side. Brushed the top with a little melted butter and buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Ok. I panicked after placing my bread in the oven and scrolling through the "add salt" reviews. I had noted them prior to preparing this and completely forgot. I literally sprinkled a minescule pinch over the top. Not sure if it made a difference.... Just pulled it from the oven rubbed it with an 1/8 tbsp. Of butter and tap. Of raw honey. Bravo! I will make this all year round. So easy. So incredibly delicious. I didn't know i like Irish soda bread until today. HAPPY ST. PATRICK'S DAY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Delicious!!!!!! Made this recipe and LOVED IT!!!! I've had many irish soda breads and this one is the best. I did listen to the viewers and added 1/2 tsp of salt,but I also sifted the flour,baking soda,sugar and salt. So it would be lighter.( I hate it when the bread comes out heavy). I mixed everything in the bowl, didn't even touch my counter. DO Not over mix. Once it came together I put it on a cookie sheet, sprayed with baking spray. Left it out for 5 minutes at room temp. covered with a clean dish cloth. I brushed the top with butter and sprinkled granulated sugar.Half the bread was gone in 5 minutes. I guess I'm going to make another one for St. Patty's Day....lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Loved this bread. I made a loaf and added salt as others mentioned. The first one came out GREAT And had to make another. The only thing I will say is be very careful not to over handle the dough or over mix. One loaf came out very "rubbery" I baked it on a baking stone and cut the top in an x shape. U can't go wrong with this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I make this every St. Patrick's Day and my family loves it! No changes required; perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mauston, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I love this bread! I left out the raisins and added two tablespoons of honey. My kids love it and they don't like anything! Way better than any other recipe I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. The only addition I made was to coat the top with butter and buttermilk and cut the customary X in the center. Otherwise, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewlywedCook10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Made this for St. Patty's day for both mine and boyfriend's works. After reading prior reviews I also added some salt. Still a little bland, so I think next time I'll add some spices for the heck of it. Other then that, really easy and came out decent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I used what I had on hand. Instead of buttermilk I used Chobani Honey Yogurt along with milk to make one cup and added juice of 1/2 lemon to that. I also used 1/2 tsp salt (as someone recommended). The dough was quite dry but working it well help it to adhere. Baked in a small round oven safe dish (sprayed with Pam) cut a large X on top before putting into oven. Brushed with melted butter and milk and baked according to directions. My son commented on how good it was and I thought it was wonderful!! A little bland, but with butter it was great! Would do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToniC

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States