Grandpa McAndrew's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
It turned out so dry - maybe I did something wrong. Will have to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kutterba

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Silverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
While this bread really didn't rise for us, we definitely liked the texture and flavor (we did sub honey for the sugar and added a teensy bit of salt). Be sure to heed the recipe's advice of handling this dough as little as possible for the best texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This is the BEST Irish soda bread recipe. It is simple authentic and delicious! Cooking it in the cast iron skillet gives it just the right crust. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
My new go-to recipe for soda bread. I've been looking a long time for the soda bread of my childhood and this is it! I did add 1/4 teaspoon of salt, but don't think it made a difference. I added an additional tablespoon of sugar because we like it just a tad sweeter. Baked on a pizza stone. Love it. The texture is amazing. Be sure to handle the dough minimally and gently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I've made this many times and it's delicious. Great both with raisins and without. Easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
The only reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 is that I added salt, per everyone's recommendations (plus, I checked some of my cookbooks, and they all called for salt). But this was wonderful...and great for breakfast, toasted with a little honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Sorry , but I had high hopes for this. My husband can't understand why I keep trying Irish soda bread with our corned beef and cabbage because he thinks it is not good. Unfortunately, this recipe didn't do the trick either. I found it dry and tasteless. I didn't cook it for more than 35 minuets but it was hard and SO HEAVEY. I'll keep looking for a recipie that we both like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I just noticed this recipe contains no baking powder, as well as no salt. I collect Irish Soda Bread recipes and every one I have adds baking powder as well as baking soda. I made it as written and used butter and ate with more butter and orange marmalade. My husband said "Good soda bread," will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Great bread. Easy and Quick. I dusted the finished loaf with powder sugar and found this a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I'm rating this one high, because it made me a great loaf of tasty soda bread, with NO SALT. Only 2 T. sugar for the entire loaf is a plus, and the bread was still sweet. I liked the level, but may try my next loaf at half the sugar, just to sample it. EASY recipe, great for when you're out of yeast. This density on this makes for good sandwich bread, toast or even french toast bread. (I didn't have raisins on hand- just left them out and had regular bread.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States