Grandpa McAndrew's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I didn't know what to expect, but this was good. Sweet and not too dry. I took it to a St. Patrick's Day party and everyone liked it (even those who had had soda breads before).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemaytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
A perfect, fast recipe. I've made it twice and it's been great both times. I usually like to fool around with ingredients but there's no need to with this one. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I made this with my students. It was so easy and they all liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This is a very easy to make, wonderfully moist bread! I topped the bread with a melted butter & powdered sugar frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
I used olive oil instead of margarine, and soy milk instead of the buttermilk. I also added salt, and it was pretty good! We ate almost the whole loaf right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Sent looking for a simple irish soda bread minus the carroway seads (sp) but with raisens and this one fit the requirements. Used golden raisins just because that is my preferance in baking..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This recipe was alright, but not much flavor.It had a floury taste, and It could have had more raisins in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
The best soda bread ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Yummy! This one was so incredibly quick and tastes great. I actually didn't have buttermilk so I substituted 1 cup plain yogurt (what the Joy of Cooking suggests as a substitution).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe and it came out perfectly with the additions from the two prior reviews. However I did something else different....since i cannot eat eggs, I substituted 1 tablespoon of baking powder, 1 tablespoon water, and 1 tablespoon vegetable oil instead of using the one egg....it was WONDERFUL!!!! Thanks guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States