Grandpa McAndrew's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Simple and excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I was so looking forward to this recipe because it had raisins. I made no substitutions except to put water on my hands to knead it because it was so dry it would not adhere together. My husband said it needed baking powder also. He made two of the other Irish soda breads and they were fab. I will try this again using some of the suggestions, but I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Well, Grandpa McAndrew must've been one heck of a guy, because this is one heck of a good Irish Soda Bread! I do however think that when "Mom" was copying down the recipe she did forget to add the salt...a little bit is all you need. I chose to add 1/2 tsp. I like my soda breads a little sweeter, so I doubled the amount of sugar to 1/4 cup. After I formed the bread I lightly scored it and brushed it with an egg wash. I popped it the oven on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and baked it at 375 for about 45 minutes. This is a great recipe for traditional Irish soda bread - perfect warm with butter served with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I just made this recipe today and it is not bad, though I do agree with what someone else said about it needing some salt. Plus I found it to be a bit dry. I did make one change and that was I put it in a bread pan instead of a cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mellskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Made this today with Irish Stew, and the whole family thought it was delicious. Now, I've never had Irish Soda Bread before so I cannot say if it turned out like it was supposed to. :) But, I can say that I made two -- the first one I used entirely all-purpose flour with the raisins, and the second one, I used 2 cups all-purpose, 1/2 cup barley flour, and 1/2 cup fresh ground wheat flour, and no raisins. Eight children and my husband all loved it -- some liked the one with the raisins, and of course, those who don't like raisins liked the other. I did add the 1/2 tsp salt as other reviewers suggested. Lots of smiles at the dinner table and no leftovers tonight - and that's what's important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blanch, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
My favorite soda bread recipe that I've tried so far! I think I might add a pinch of salt the next time I bake it, but I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
It does look really dry when it comes out of the oven but tastes pretty good with butter and jam. It's a bit bland but for the simplicity, I am giving it 4 stars. I added more sugar because I like my breakfast bread a little sweet and next time, I am adding more raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Did not add the raisins - I don't remember soda bread having raisins so I omitted them. Made 3 loaves - one for my office, one for hubby's and one for home. All were gone within 2 days! Really really good for soaking up some Irish Stew!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Great, easy recipe. Used dried cranberries instead of raisins. Use an 8 inch or 9 inch cast iron skillet. Brushed with melted butter just out of the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Not a fan. It came out very gooey and bland. I did add the 1/2 tsp of salt and topped with butter as recommended by other reviews. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States