Grandpa McAndrew's Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
My favorite soda bread recipe that I've tried so far! I think I might add a pinch of salt the next time I bake it, but I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
It does look really dry when it comes out of the oven but tastes pretty good with butter and jam. It's a bit bland but for the simplicity, I am giving it 4 stars. I added more sugar because I like my breakfast bread a little sweet and next time, I am adding more raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Did not add the raisins - I don't remember soda bread having raisins so I omitted them. Made 3 loaves - one for my office, one for hubby's and one for home. All were gone within 2 days! Really really good for soaking up some Irish Stew!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Great, easy recipe. Used dried cranberries instead of raisins. Use an 8 inch or 9 inch cast iron skillet. Brushed with melted butter just out of the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Not a fan. It came out very gooey and bland. I did add the 1/2 tsp of salt and topped with butter as recommended by other reviews. Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
what a wonderful recipe! next time i will add a little salt, besides that i wouldnt change a thing. thank you grandpa mcandrew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
great bread recommend cooking alittle longer than an hr if cooking in loaf pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mairin gonzales

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Thought this was a great recipe. A few tweeks I did was doubled the sugar, 3/4t.salt, 1/2c. walnuts, 1/2c. Craisins. Even my grandson liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I followed this recipe almost to the letter (plus the 1/2 t salt recommended by someone and using both currants and raisins) and it was just blah. I'm not sure why people have liked this so much - heavy and tasteless. It's edible with butter and jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States