Grandpa Hubbard's Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Very good, but a little bland - I added chopped apples, raisins, and a little cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
529 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenNortheast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
Something my daughter will eat!! I used milk instead of creamer as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
447 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I made this for just two and found that using the measurements provided for two servings made it too soupy. The second time I made it, I used just 1 and 3/4 cups water and kept the rest of the measurements the same. I used regular half and half instead of non-dairy creamer, and I skipped the milk and second tablespoon of brown sugar. One tablespoon was just enough. My son really liked it the first time, but with it being so thin, he thought it lost its flavor by the time he finished the bowl. When I cut back on the water and it was thicker, he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
420 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I will never buy pre-packaged instant oatmeal again. I triple the batch and keep it in an air-tight container. When I want some, I dip out 1/2 cup, add the water and butter and microwave for 3 minutes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Just made this for breakfast and it was awesome! I've never liked the instant packets but I liked this. I mainly made it for my husband who has been wanting oatmeal for a while and he said it tasted so good. We used Cinnamon Bun creamer from Coffee Mate and it was the perfect amount of cinnamon flavor. I didn't use quite as much creamer as the recipe called for and I'm glad I didn't because it didn't really need it, it had the right amount of sweetness. Will probably be making this alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smith's Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Great oatmeal, i don't know why i never tried to make oatmeal by scratch before...i've always relied on the instant kind which doesn't give half of the flavor and texture of this stuff. If you're looking for a quicker and less messy way to cook the oats, put the oats and water in the microwave for 5 min at medium heat, and then finish them off w/the butter etc. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was very good and put shame to those quick packets of "oatmeal". I halved the recipe. After the oats had cooked it was a little more watery than I thought it should be. I removed the oatmeal with a slotted spoon to the bowl. I only added a small amount of the brown sugar so I could taste for sweetness. The non-dairy creamer really scared me. My family doesn't drink coffee but my parents do. When they came to visit they had recently brought fat-free Coffee Mate French Vanilla non-dairy creamer. I decided to use a small amount of the coffee mate powder with half n half. I loved the outcome of this oatmeal! It was smooth and creamy. This will become a regular breakfast dish for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I made this in one large pot and used Lactose Free Whole Milk the first time and Lactose Free skim the second time. The whole tasted better but it wasn't a significant difference. This oatmeail was outstanding! I added: 1/3 cup raisins, 1T cinnamon, 1/8t vanilla and a dash of pumpkin pie spice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
this was awesome came out a little soupy so i will add a little less milk next time but overall i love is i will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This will be the only way I eat oatmeal from now on! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie-Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

No-Cook Overnight Oatmeal

Watch how to make super easy overnight oats!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States