Grandpa Hubbard's Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I used Hazelnut creamer and it was amazing. My toddlers were asking for seconds! Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I do not like the oatmeal it seems the majority of people like so that is what made this recipe so enjoyable. There was substance to it! I make some modifications. I cut the butter in half and the brown sugar to one tablespoon per serving. I also had almond slivers that needed to be used so I added them and craisens because my husband likes them with cereal. This is the oatmeal I wil make from now on! No more instant oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Extremely bland, I ended up adding almost double the brown sugar and syrup, and threw cinnamon in as well to give it flavor. But the brown sugar gave it a nice taste different then the white sugar my traditional recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was really good, especially since I put shredded apple in it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I hate oatmeal. Always have, and thought I always would - Until this recipe. I jest not, as I was looking for a healthy breakfast alternative to doughnuts or other fried foods, when I came across this recipe. I DID make some modification to suit my taste - per other suggestions (and I had no creamer), I substituted milk for creamer. I also lowered the amount of creamer/milk to a little over an 1/8th of a cup - I enjoy my oatmeal a mushy consistency. I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla flavoring, ground cinnamon (about 1 tbsp., as I really enjoy the cinnamon kick). I also added 1/2 tbsp. of maple syrup, chopped pecans, raisins, and sliced banana. Sweetened to taste with Splenda as well, since I've always been frustrated with the lack of bold flavor and sweetened taste in oatmeal. It really helped kick up the flavor factor and was absolutely delicious. I even omitted the fruit one morning and enjoyed basic oatmeal. This recipe has changed my outlook on oatmeal and provided me with a healthier choice for breakfast foods (very filling and nutritious!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
How funny, my grandfather made me oatmeal the same way. He used Mocha Mix non-dairy creamer. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DYANNAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is just like the quaker oatmeal - but so much healthier! I didn't have creamer, so just omitted it - and it turned out amazing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is very good. I added a handful of raisins while it was cooking, so they could plump up. Filling and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
an excellent recipe, except i used milk instead of water, so that it was creamier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Used fat free milk and it was still creamy enough. Added apples and raisins, chopped nuts would be great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States