Grandpa Hubbard's Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
this was delicious and so comforting on a rainy morning! I cut back on the sugar and added some raisins. This is definitely better than the stuff in packets. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Good oatmeal. Doesn't need all the sugar it tells you to use. And I like mine without milk, so I didn't use the creamer or the milk with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I made this for just two and found that using the measurements provided for two servings made it too soupy. The second time I made it, I used just 1 and 3/4 cups water and kept the rest of the measurements the same. I used regular half and half instead of non-dairy creamer, and I skipped the milk and second tablespoon of brown sugar. One tablespoon was just enough. My son really liked it the first time, but with it being so thin, he thought it lost its flavor by the time he finished the bowl. When I cut back on the water and it was thicker, he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
420 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This is omg good! :) I used steel cut oats and then added the brown sugar to the pan. No salt, butter or milk, and used 1/3 cup powdered creamer since all my liquid ones are the holiday flavors. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Oh my this was the best oatmeal I have ever had!! Here's what I did instead of mixing in the individual bowls I made it all in the pot I used reg milk as I didn't have creamer although I will try the flavored kind next time I did add some apples that I chopped and cooked with two tablespoons butter and brown sugar and a dash of cinnamon oh I also added in a spoon of peanut better and a teaspoon of vanilla so good was on table in less than ten minutes I have never made homemade oatmeal just usually do the small packets but never again this was simple and can be altered easily for different flavors the family loved it!! My husband agrees this is the best oatmeal ever thank you for shareing the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I will never buy pre-packaged instant oatmeal again. I triple the batch and keep it in an air-tight container. When I want some, I dip out 1/2 cup, add the water and butter and microwave for 3 minutes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Yummy!! My DD and I had this for dinner tonight. We did add a little cinnamon because we like that but this was wonderful. She has become quite fussy about her food lately and she gobbled this up in no time. I think that gets this recipe 5 stars just for that alone. Thank you for sharing such a yummy and comforting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sisg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Delicious recipe, but I would load up on the fruits and honey for more flavor. I will definately try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsMom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Great taste! Chewy and yummy! Definitely tastes like something you'd get at your grandparents' house. :o) I only had quick oats, so I cooked them according to the directions on the package. And I didn't have creamer, so I used milk, but I thought 1/4 cup of milk per bowl made it a little too soupy. Next time I'll use less milk as I like my oatmeal to be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I cant cook them fast enough for my family....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States