Grandpa Harry's Holiday Punch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Very good punch. I did use a liter of lemon lime soda instead of club soda. Less potent but still tasty. Froze an ice block with sliced oranges and this was a perfect way to keep it cold and add some flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Made exactly as stated for Christmas day. Went very quickly and everyone loved it! Great excuse to use my punch bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Romeoville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I used this punch recipe at my Christmas party last year and everyone loved it! I omitted the sugar and used asti spumante for the sweetness instead. I've already had several requests to serve it again at this years party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made for New Year's Day party. No rave reviews, but was enjoyed by some. Wish I'd added the pineapple juice suggested by someone else. Just didn't taste like a party punch to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbyrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenova, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Made this for the first time Christmas Eve and it was a big hit. I was worried it would be too sweet with a whole cup of sugar and started with less, but after a taste test felt that it needed a whole cup. We also liked the punchy taste non-pulp OJ & pineapple added (about 2 cups worth). I only had cherry brandy on hand and it worked well. I plan to make this again for New Years Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This has become a staple at holiday gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Simple and delicious! A BIG hit with the family. I put pomegranate seeds in mine and used a large ice lantern mold to make smaller star shaped ice to float inside. Beautiful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
The original recipe was not sweet enough for "punch" in my opinion. I did as another reviewer suggested and added pineapple juice. I also added a bit more sugar and some orange juice, and added frozen pineapple juice "ice cubes" that I made in my muffin tins. These additions resulted in a fruity, sweet holiday punch. This is a very flavorful punch base with just the right amount of alcohol, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This one's a keeper. I've made this punch for four years in a row, and I'm still getting requests for it. My husband loves it, and normally he won't touch any drink that isn't either white wine or made with rum. The only tweak I would recommend is if you use an ice ring or block, reduce the club soda by about a quarter to a half --otherwise the punch gets really watered down and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I've made this punch three years now for my holiday party, and it always runs out before everything else. It's quite tasty, and open to lots of variations. You can add fruit if you like, to make it more like a sangria. I will say that the reviewer who warned that it "sneaks up on you" is right. It tastes great and has little of the alcoholic bite you would expect, given the ingredients. So watch how much you have, or you'll be in for one rockin' hangover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Luscious Slush Punch

See how to make a refreshing alcohol-free punch.

Lemon-Strawberry Punch

See how to make a fizzy, refreshing, alcohol-free punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States