Grandmother's Punch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
Everyone loved this. As suggested I decreased the amount of suger to 1 1/2 cups. I also added 2 liters of Gingerale. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
This is definately a keeper! We tried this for a shower at work and it was a hit. I couldn't get enough of it. I took someone's advice and added just a little more ginger ale to make it go further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Punch was very sweet yet we all loved it. Next time I will use 1/2 the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
We used this recipe for our school's "Secret Santa" treats. The kids and the parents both were regularly coming back for seconds! I used a frozen strawberry concentrate (usually for mixed drinks) and a two cups of canned pineapple juice instead of the frozen pineapple concentrate. I left off the sliced oranges, but the punch still made a pretty presentation and was delicious. It was easy to prepare ahead of time by mixing all of the ingredients except the sherbert and ginger ale in a large pitcher. I made a double batch with the intention of having some later for my own family, but they ended up using it all at the festival!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
I made this punch for my Thanksgiving gathering. It was a HUGE hit!! I used 1/2 raspberry sherbet. I couldn't fit all the sherbet into the punch bowl, but it didn't taste like it was lacking. It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Thanks Angie for a superb recipe! Like the others I made a few changes; used sweetened strawberry koolaid, 3/4 cup sugar, 2 liter ginger ale, 1/2 of the 1/2 gallon sherbert. I had to mix this in a big pot first, it would not all fit in my punch bowl. Everyone loved it! I had 16 adults and it made plenty for everyone. The color of the punch was gorgeous too! I shared my recipe with many that night! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I made this for a client luncheon at work and it was a hit! The goal was a non-alcholic alternative to sangria because the event was fiesta-themed. Based on many people commenting that it was too sweet, I cut out all the sugar and used enough sweeted kool-aid for 3 quarts even though I added the full 4 quarts of water. I also floated sliced strawberries in the punch bowl and only added 5-6 large scoops of sherbet rather than the whole box. Everyone LOVED it! Most guests went back for seconds and one guy had 4 glasses of it. I plan to use it for home entertaining sometime soon and I will also add rum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I made this sweet baby for my girlfriends famly. Everyone loved it. I only used one cup of sugar however. I also used orange vanilla sherbert. It really came out great and I was the beverage hero of the evening. I think my girlfriend (Grace) would have married me that Thanksgiving day due to the quality of that punch I made. THANKS GRANDMA'S PUNCH, YOU ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
A good punch but we ended up adding more ginger ale to compensate for the sweetness. Definitely not as much sugar next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
Lovely for a shower! Big hit, but too sweet, despite being watered down a bit too! Yummy Will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lemon-Strawberry Punch

See how to make a fizzy, refreshing, alcohol-free punch.

Cranberry Punch

See how to make a bright, tangy refresher for summer or the holidays.

Black Halloween Punch

Cast a deliciously dark pall over your Halloween punch bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States