Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I just made this cake today for the first time. It is amazing! We will try it tomorrow with strawberries (some with balsamic vinegar)and whipped cream. I made 2/3 of a batter and put it in my bundt pan. Cooked at 350 for 45 min. Perfect. I followed as written except used heavy cream since I was out of milk. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I made this cake yesterday. It was a great hit with my family. My picky three year old said it was the best cake ever. I did add 1 tbsp of lemon extract and 1/2 tbsp. of vanilla extract. I also sifted my flour. which equaled up to 3 1/2 cups of flour. I will be making this again. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. I did have to bake the cake 20 mins. longer for a 10 inch bundt cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmr248

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I've never made pound cake before and this was a fantastically perfect recipe! I only made a third of the recipe and used it for strawberry shortcake, and got RAVE reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Excellent! Exactly what I would expect from pound cake. I will add vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
We enjoyed this classic cake! Just the recipe I was looking for. I added 1 Tbsp of vanilla extract and it turned out wonderful. I was planning on freezing a couple of the loaves but I don't think we will have a need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Simple and tasty! Added a little vanilla extract, scaled recipe down to make one cake. Baking in square pan in convection oven only took 35-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Was an excellent pound cake for our Memorial Day picnic this year. It paired well with a lemon pie filling... The sweet and sour complimented one another. Will definitely make it again, so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aussie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I increased the batter amount to 1 1/2 times the ingredients to make a 16 x 16 sheet cake. WOW! This turned out amazing. FYI - I added 1 TBS of vanilla and 1 cup of heavy whipping cream instead of milk as suggested by another. I will be making a 2 layer 16 x 16 graduation cake this weekend. Will let you know how it turns and will post a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweeteelme
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
First time making this pound cake. Excellent. Will definitely recommend it. I read the reviews and did some variation. I used one cup of heavy whipping cream in place of milk. I added one teaspoon each of pure vanilla, lemon and almond extract . Baked at 325 for 10 inch tube pound cake for 50 minutes and the loaf for about 25-30 minutes. It was enough batter for both. It was so easy to make. As they recommended room temperature on your eggs and butter .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweeteelme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Very delicious and easy recipe. Only change was I added lemon and vanilla extracts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States