Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Scaled it down for 10 servings, but still delicious! Great texture, moist, and soft with a nice outter crust. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I'm only giving this recipe 1 star because the cake crumb was like I expected it to be. Other than that this cake was a complete failure. I followed the other reviewers suggestions. I creamed the butter and sugar together for approx. 5 minutes. I beat each egg individually. I measured all the ingredients with a scale. It was just gross. I cut one piece of it. Tasted of it. It was very bland, no sweetness to it at all. It was just nasty. I will not be wasting my ingredients again on this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I love this recipe! It's not dry like most pound cake I tasted, it's light, fluffy, but still crisp on the outside. I added a teaspoon of baking powder and added a little bit of vanilla just to kick it. And it was wonderful. I'll try to make it again without any modification next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ferdynand Antonius

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I just made this cake today for the first time. It is amazing! We will try it tomorrow with strawberries (some with balsamic vinegar)and whipped cream. I made 2/3 of a batter and put it in my bundt pan. Cooked at 350 for 45 min. Perfect. I followed as written except used heavy cream since I was out of milk. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I made this cake yesterday. It was a great hit with my family. My picky three year old said it was the best cake ever. I did add 1 tbsp of lemon extract and 1/2 tbsp. of vanilla extract. I also sifted my flour. which equaled up to 3 1/2 cups of flour. I will be making this again. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. I did have to bake the cake 20 mins. longer for a 10 inch bundt cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmr248

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I've never made pound cake before and this was a fantastically perfect recipe! I only made a third of the recipe and used it for strawberry shortcake, and got RAVE reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Excellent! Exactly what I would expect from pound cake. I will add vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
We enjoyed this classic cake! Just the recipe I was looking for. I added 1 Tbsp of vanilla extract and it turned out wonderful. I was planning on freezing a couple of the loaves but I don't think we will have a need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Simple and tasty! Added a little vanilla extract, scaled recipe down to make one cake. Baking in square pan in convection oven only took 35-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Was an excellent pound cake for our Memorial Day picnic this year. It paired well with a lemon pie filling... The sweet and sour complimented one another. Will definitely make it again, so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aussie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States