Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Rose up for 10 min. Then fell flat to the bottom. I live in a 5000 ft elevation. Could be the reason but how can i adapt for uphere?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
A very traditional and true recipe for pound cake. Nothing wrong with the recipe I just didn't like it as much as I like other poundcakes. I thought it was too sweet and the bottom and sides baked a too thick browned crust that isn't as good as the top or middle. This type of cake is better the next day when the ingredients have time to mellow into one another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Best and easiest pound cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was SOOOOOO easy to make! I cut the recipe in half (just me and my 3 yr old son)...I pulled the ingredients out as soon as I walked in the door after work. About half an hour later, I mixed the ingredients together and baked 2 small loaves. It turned out perfect! Moist and compact...just like it should be! I did make an adjustment...I wanted mine for strawberries, so I made a vanilla key-lime pound cake...this is going in my recipe box at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ezeyes
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This cake is perfect as is. I also baked one with a few changes: added 1/4c sugar free caramel syrup and 1/2c cocoa powder and turned out a very good chocolate pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ezeyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Elm, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Tasted a bit bland, and I'm not sure why. I used regular salted butter, I also used a mix of brown and white sugar, and added a bit of vanilla (which the recipe didn't indicate, but I followed some reviewers advice). The cake rose well, and had a good texture, but the flavour was a bit dull. Maybe I should have put extra vanilla. Will try again another time, and see if it comes out better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Great pound cake recipe..I altered it a little...I added 1 tsp. vanilla extract and 1 tsp. lemon extract and make it a little denser I omitted one of the egg whites. I baked this in a 10" angel food cake pan @ 325 for 1 hr. and 45 mins. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I just made this today for the first time. It's a simple recipe that's true to the old-fashioned pound cake and most importantly, it's delicious! I did add vanilla extract to it and rather than baking it in loaf pans, I divided the batter in between 2 cake pans. It took less time baking this way so, if you're planning on making a layer cake, keep an eye on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Yes, this is the formula for a classic American pound cake as it has been made for well over a century and a half (1:1:1:1 or 1 pound butter, 1 pound sugar, 1 pound flour, 1 pound eggs.) I used this as a base for petits fours, and the texture stood up to repeated cuts (I halved the recipe, and baked in a 9"X13" pan, then cut 7X10 into (70) 1-1/4" squares) and didn't shed crumbs, neither when it was cut, nor when the fondant was poured over it. I did, however, add more milk. This was so short on liquid that the result was closer to a dough than a batter. I added 50% more milk, and added extracts (combo of almond, vanilla, orange, lemon , maple and coconut) as I needed the cake to have sufficiently assertive and complex flavor to stand up to the uber sweet fondant. The 9"X13" was done in 27 minutes. I cooled it in the pan for about 13 minutes, and it released beautifully onto the rack to finish. This cake is appropriately dense, sturdy and velvety moist (with additional liquid.) It's a 4-1/2 star recipe as is, but a 5 with additional milk and flavoring, which yields distinct sensory improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I made this pound cake last year for the office staff at my school. They asked if I would please make it again this year! Everyone loved it and even remembered it a year later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jldsport88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States