Grandmother's Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This is a great recipe! I just had to double the milk. I also added the zest of one lemon and about two tablespoons of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I followed this exactly except for the part i missed - I only used two pans instead of three and i had to cook an additional 8 minutes. It is DELICIOUS! Perfect texture, moist and firm, sweet crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I tried this recipe over the weekend with my children and it was amazing. The only thing I did different was add 1 1/2 tsp of pure vanilla extract. It was very moist and didn't last the day in my house of 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I did not have much luck with this recipe and I made sure to mix the butter and sugar a lot and in between each egg. Mine turned out dense. I only cooked for 50 minutes and maybe could have cooked less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Perfect!! I made this for new Year's Eve to Dip in Chocolate Fondue. I saw this recipe made 3 loafs. I didn't need that many for 8 of us for Fondue, so I decided to cut this recipe in thirds....so I only made 1 loaf. Boy, I should have made the 3....it was way better then store bought SaraLee Pound cake. Next time I will make the 3 loaves and freeze the. Can't wait for strawberry season to make more for Shortcake! It's even very tasty by itself....with a cup of coffee in them morning!! You won't be disappointed! ENJOY :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saukville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Belgium, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This recipe is so delicious & very easy to make. I even added about 1TBsp of Vanilla Extract to this recipe. I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
So, the low review is probably my fault. I bake all the time. You name it, chances are I bake it. But the cook time seemed all wrong. And even with the tooth pick coming out clean, it was under baked when cut into. It tastes fine (though not like pound cake which I'm usually a fan of) but is structurally a mess. It's the first thing that hasn't come out good in maybe a dozen years or more. It has the exact structural issue as the first cake I ever baked without supervision (6th grade maybe?) Again, the mess up is probably my fault, but then again, it's not easy baking a new recipe while making dinner and holding my baby all at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I was looking for a great pound cake recipe and came across this recipe it is fabulous! My client loved it so much that she has ordered another one for Christmas! Thanks to the person who submitted this recipe. Even after overcooking the first one and burning the top part it was still fabulous. 12/23/14! I just made this cake again for the same customer, this time, I used lemon extract! OMG it was better than the first. This will be my favorite pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tamikka Claybrook
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I added about a tsp bourbon vanilla and dusted it with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grandma GG
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Oh this is the best cake! Perfect for gift giving too. I added a few things to make it original. I added 1 tsp salt, 1 Tblsp lemon extract, 2 Tblsp vanilla extract, & 1 tsp coconut extract. If I had almond extract on hand I would have added 1 tsp almond extract. BAKING change too. Grease Bundy pan with Crisco butter & flour lightly. Set Oven temp 325 degrees bake cake for 90 minutes(1&1/2 hrs.) To not burn cake & soon as it cones out the oven place serving plate on top of bundt pan & flip it as it slides right out of cake. Easy cleanup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States