Grandmother's Pork Chop Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by RALEPRICE
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Wanted to make this recipe with rice instead of potatoes, so made these changes... Cooked bacon (cut in half) in iron skillet till almost crisp. Added pork chops (season with s & p, minced garlic and seasoned salt) and cooked with bacon and onion till brown. Took out bacon and chops, poured in 1 cup uncooked rice and stir fried in grease 1 minute. Added 2 cups of hot water and 2 chicken bouillon cubes. Put chops back in with rice mixture and simmered half hour, covered. Serve with slice of bacon on top of chop. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALEPRICE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I followed the directions closely except I poured off some of the bacon grease, browned the chops before adding potatoes and used 1/2 cup chicken broth instead of water. My husband really liked the dish, but I thought it lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustForFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe. I decided to eject some of the fat and used packaged bacon bits instead frying and retaining the grease.. I also followed the advice of another review and seared the pork chops first. I used red potatoes and left the skins and packaged onion, celery, pepper & parsley mix. Lots of color and flavor. Much appreciated for a fast and tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
this was a ggarood base recipe. instead of water i added chicken stock i left the skins on the potatoes. i also fried the chops in the bacon grease first before adding broth. Also seasoned chops and potatoe with rosemary, thyme, salt, fresh ground pepper, Garlic powder. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
The recipe turned out pretty good. Just found that the pork chops were still a bit pink even when cooked as the recipe said - so they had to be placed in the oven at 350 for about 15 minutes. However, everyone seemed to like it. Made gravy out of the drippings, and the bacon flavor in it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
these are very good pork chops. I was looking for a different pork chop recipe. next time I think I will add more pototes and some carrots. this is my new pork chop recipe that I will use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Great recipe! I added onion powder instead of onions since my daughter won't eat them. I also added garlic powder and diced up the pork and potatoes. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This did not go over well with any of the 7 people in my house including myself! Don't even want to give it a star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
As per suggestions: I seasoned meat (& potatoes), I browned the chops, I fried bacon used grease in dutch oven and set aside bacon for dinner. This was a very tasty meal! Easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAIR_LADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States