Grandmother's Polish Cabbage and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Wonderful base! It leaves plenty of room for additional veggies, meat and spices. I made mine with kielbasa, butter, cabbage, onion, garlic, garlic salt, chef seasoning, celery salt, white and black pepper, and egg noodles instead of bowties. The kids loved it and I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ely, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Family loved it. So easy & great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Nice variation on my Mom's (Austrian) pork and bowties. The only thing she did differently is use leftover pork roast, cubed, instead of ham. Your recipe is an awesome combo. Must have more often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This is a milder dish, but still delicious! It was nice to have another way to use up the cabbage!! The ham makes it really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I did not have bow tie pasta, I used equal amounts wide egg noodles. I also substituted TURKEY ham for only because I'm on a budget and the turkey ham was on sale. Right before serving, I sprinkled the dish with fresh ground pepper. The boys loved this dish--NO leftovers. NOTE: For those of you who are looking for a cheap and filling dish to stretch your food budget, this is the one for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This is super delicious! So much better than plain cabbage noodles although I adore those too. This is easy, economical, and tastes great. My mother said it was the best cabbage and noodles she ever had! Thank you for the great recipe. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was just ok for me as written. I found it to be a little bland. I usually fry my cabbage in bacon grease for added flavor. I would definitely do that if I make this again. I really liked the addition of ham to the traditional cabbage and noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Grandmother's Polish Cabbage & Noodles Haiku: "So simple, so good. Swapped ham out for kielbasa, coz it brings the 'yum!'" Recipe submitter mentions using kielbasa (that I'd pre-browned w/ the onion b4 adding the cabbage) in place of ham, and not having farfalle, I used the remnants of 2 boxes of wagon wheels and twirlies to finish them off. The kielbasa really adds a nice dimension of flavor to the cabbage, and I think that the butter (while seemingly of a decadent amount to use) really makes this great too. Very humble, very comforting - hated that when serving it we needed a sprinkle of salt and pepper, but otherwise, a meal we'll gladly have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
A humble but very tasty dish for those who enjoy cabbage. Comforting, simple, and ready in just over a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This recipe was pretty plain. Not enough flavor for as much cabbage as it calls for. Had to add about three times as much meat. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States