Grandmother's Old Fashioned Butter Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
When I was a little girl my grandmother would make butter rolls every Sunday before church. After church we would my family would look forward to after dinner for our butter roll delight. This recipe is very similar to what we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was o.k. It's nothing more than pie dough (therefore, it shouldn't rise)slathered in a custard sauce. One could save time by purchasing prepared pie dough. I think it would taste much better if butter were used in place of the shortening. The amount of butter spread over the dough is too much & could easily be cut down to 1/2 a stick, especially if butter were substituted for the shortening. Also, creaming the butter, sugar, & spice together would keep the sugar/spice from falling out when transferring the rolls to the baking dish. This recipe has potential & I am wondering what other flavors besides vanilla would be good to use - orange, lemon, or perhaps banana pecan flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Had been searching and searching and found this on the site a few years ago. For those who know, this is it! My mother, (the expert), added a bit more milk, and as an occasional variation, canned peaches and a bit of brown sugar! Gives it a creamy peach cobbler type appeal. Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
this recipe is great. My mother used to fix this when I was a little girl and this tasted just the same. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
these are very unusual... you're kind of expecting cinnamon rolls...but they're not! they were good - but we cooked them an extra 8 minutes so they weren't too gluey. i am betting this is some traditional dish i was never exposed to! i will try making one more time - they were all eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacherie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
didn't rise but still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I wasn't crazy about these rolls right out of the oven. They were much better after hardening in the fridge for about a day. Then they tasted more like a shortbread cookie. Otherwise, they were just greasy and mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I've made these rolls many times now, and I just love them. If you're looking for something like cinnamon rolls, these are not it, they have a flaky biscuit-like texture. I have another recipe very similar to this that calls for vegetable oil instead of shortening, which works very well if you don't want to take the time to cut in the shortening. These are good with or without the milk being poured on before baking. You can pour a little milk or cream on each individual serving after they've baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
I had to do some tweaking with this recipe, but it's the closest I'd found to what my grandmother used to make. It took 3 tries to get it, but it was worth it. I reduced the water and butter to 1/4 C. Otherwise the roll is too mushy. I also cooked the roll til brown, about 45 minutes, then removed to another cake pan. I cooked the milk sauce until thickened and then poured it over the roll.. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

How to Cut-in Butter

Cut butter into flour to create flaky layers in pie crust and biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States