Grandmother's Old Fashioned Butter Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I loved this! My mom made this when I was little... pure awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hallsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Gladewater, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
My aunt has been making butter rolls for years. This summer she finally made another. I stood by and wrote down everything she did. This idoes not turn out like hers. She adds baking powder so they rise and are very fluffy. She also adds cinnamon along with the nutmeg , doesn't heat the milk (whole milk) and we cut the butter into small slices and layed on the dough instead of spreading it over the dough. Try this and I think you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This recipe is a flash back to my grandma! This tasted very similar to hers however but she always added cinnamon to hers and used evaporated milk. She taught me how to make a quick version of this...take a can of regular store bought biscuits, roll them out on a little flour so they are flat, put butter sugar and cinnamon on the dough, then fold over and press the sides together. Then cook just as you would the homemade version. SOOOO Good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rotorwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Good basic start, which means that one can "customize". Use brown sugar and evaporated milk; instead of milk and white sugar this makes a caramel sauce. Umm! Use a raisins, pecans or granola with a sprinkle of cinnamon on the flat dough before you roll it up. In the milk sauce use a teaspoon of vanilla.... Lord have mercy! All of which I have tried with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I remember On Sunday's after church my Mother would make a Butter Roll, But I Don't quite remember her heating the milk I think heating the milk makes the dough gummy so it does not cook evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This was my first butter roll. it came out good except for the fact i couldn't get my dough to roll out in a rectangle shape and i was confused about how to do a jelly roll so i ended up with 6 rolls instead of 12
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Great recipe I have been making this for years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is a great recipe, my grandmother use to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Thank you so much for this recipe. I was raised by my grandmother, and she used to make the best butter rolls. She is no longer here to give me the recipe, and this is just like she used to make! She would be proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
My husband has told me about his Mama's butter roll since we were married ten years ago. His Mom didn't have a recipe so I never tried to make it. He loved this butter roll. The only changes I made to the recipe were I used butter and shortening verses just shortening, I added one teaspoon of baking powder to the dough and I also added cinnamon over the rolled dough. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA
Living In: Hanceville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

How to Cut-in Butter

Cut butter into flour to create flaky layers in pie crust and biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States