Grandmother's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This recipe simply makes the most flavorful oatmeal raisin cookies EVER! I make these cookies at least twice a month per requests from family and friends. Sweet, delicious, and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing this recipe for all to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissapooh79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was a very good and delicious recipe. I made some modications per other's suggestions and also added some twists of my own. Instead of the 1 cup brown/ 1 cup white sugar as per recipe, I used 1 cup brown, to keep the color and taste, and 1/2 cup white. I then used 3 tablespoons of honey and added it at the very end of the mixing. I added an additional cup of oats and also substituted 1/2 cup of the flour with whole wheat. The result was absolutely delicious and healthy too! The cookie came out with a nuttier/grainier texture with the additional oats and wheat flour. The honey made the cookie creamier and more natural tasting. I made a batch of 24 cookies as I made bigger cookies. Also, when placed on the cookie sheet, I pressed them down a bit to make them bigger as they pretty much stayed the same shape while baking. All in all a great yummy recipe. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaDoubleJs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Delicious. They have less oats and more cookie than other oatmeal cookies I've had which was a nice change but not sure if this is going to be "the" recipe. Very good cookies though. Wasn't dissapointed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I baked these for 2 years for family, friends and co-workers before I ever ate any. I thought they were all nuts when they swore this was the best cookie they had ever eaten. I use this dough recipe for chocolate chip and every other combination of chip and nut cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I am pleased with the way these cookies turned out. I did as another reviewer suggested and rolled them in cinnamon/sugar and they both look and taste very nice. I soaked the raisin mixture overnight and that seemed to turn out well. I used unsalted butter instead of shortening which was fine... Oh, if you don't like rich/sweet cookies, these probably aren't for you, but if you do, I think this recipe is worth a try. EDIT: The next day, these cookies were still soft and chewy. My husband says these are the best oatmeal cookies he's ever had, and he doesn't say that sort of thing lightly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
These were perfect! Thanks to the other reviewer for the tip about rolling them in the sugar mix (I've been doing that with other cookies and muffins since then and it's wonderful!)... I will most definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Best oatmeal cookie recipe I've found yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
I have made this recipe several times and really enjoy it. i just add a little more flour than the recipe calls for and they turn out soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Great recipe! I used butter, old fashioned rolled oats, and a mixture of raisins, dried cranberries and chocolate chips. I also used half whole wheat flour, half white. Next time I will add nuts or toasted sunflower seed for crunch. I did the mixing in my food processor with the dough blade. Just had to finish stirring the oats in by hand in a bowl as my processor was full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States