Grandmother's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
These are delicious! I substituted butter for the shortening, though, and I also used pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon. I didn't use walnuts, so I think next time I will use 1 1/2 of raisins instead of 1 cup; doesn't seem like there are enough raisins. Followed the advice of previous person and coated the balled cookie dough in sugar and cinnamon. Really makes them look pretty and taste even better than they already do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Whenever I take these to a function, I HAVE to take a few copies of the recipe with. I usually give this to the bride at kitchen teas too. I usually leave out the raisins or substitute with cranberries, but either way, this one is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
oatmeal rasian are my fav.I used butter instead of shortening,added another half tsp vanalla.I also rolled them in cin/sug.awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leo Snider
Home Town: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Baby Potsticker
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
These came out really good. They were a little soft and sticking together in storage but that doesn't really matter...as long as they taste good...and they do! The only thing I changed was I chopped up Rollos candies and threw them into the dough. The bites with caramel and chocolate in them are a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Yum!! Followed as written :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Delicious! Followed recipe exactly except didn't have butter flavored shortening so substituted 8 tbsp butter and 8 tbsp shortening for the 1 cup measurement. Don't flatten these too much with the fork otherwise they'll be too flat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Centerview, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This is the BEST recipe for oatmeal cookies that I've made to date!!! I did roll them in a sugar/cinnamon mix before flattening to bake, my husband ate them up!!! This will be my go to recipe from now on! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Without a doubt, the best oatmeal cookie I've ever tried!!!! I used the advise of other reviewers and changed the shortening for unsalted butter and it worked!!!! I have to admit at first I was a little skeptic about the dough but they turn out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marlene
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I loved them, my sister hates oatmeal stuff and told me why I was making them, yea, after eating them, she took back what she said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Very dry, not much taste. I will not make these again. A waste of my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Rue, Ohio, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States