Grandmother's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Beats ANY other oatmeal cookie recipe I have ever made. If you put them in a metal tin they stay moist and delicious for DAYS though they rarely last that long. I ALWAYS make a double batch b/c they go so fast. The ONLY substitutions I make are to use 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening, and I omit the nuts b/c I don't like them. I don't know if it is the soaking of the raisins in the eggs or what but these truly are the absolute BEST oatmeal cookies I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These cookies are simply delicious. My children just loved them and got a good review from a little girl that doesn't normally like oatmeal cookies. I followed the recipe as is but used butter instead of shortening. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Ok I tried. I really tried to like these cookies, however, they are missing something... I made them 2 different times, thinking maybe I goofed on the first batch? I like a chewy, oaty, cookie, that is soft. These were cake like and something is missing....they were rather bland tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
These were great! I have been looking for a soft oatmeal cookie! This is the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
These are delicious! I substituted butter for the shortening, though, and I also used pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon. I didn't use walnuts, so I think next time I will use 1 1/2 of raisins instead of 1 cup; doesn't seem like there are enough raisins. Followed the advice of previous person and coated the balled cookie dough in sugar and cinnamon. Really makes them look pretty and taste even better than they already do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Whenever I take these to a function, I HAVE to take a few copies of the recipe with. I usually give this to the bride at kitchen teas too. I usually leave out the raisins or substitute with cranberries, but either way, this one is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
oatmeal rasian are my fav.I used butter instead of shortening,added another half tsp vanalla.I also rolled them in cin/sug.awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leo Snider
Home Town: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Baby Potsticker
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
These came out really good. They were a little soft and sticking together in storage but that doesn't really matter...as long as they taste good...and they do! The only thing I changed was I chopped up Rollos candies and threw them into the dough. The bites with caramel and chocolate in them are a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Yum!! Followed as written :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Delicious! Followed recipe exactly except didn't have butter flavored shortening so substituted 8 tbsp butter and 8 tbsp shortening for the 1 cup measurement. Don't flatten these too much with the fork otherwise they'll be too flat. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Centerview, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States