Grandmother's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I don't know why anyone would give this less than 5 stars! Anyone who knows me, knows that I hate raisins. I have never had any use for oatmeal raisin cookies, but my husband likes them, so I have been searching for good recipes. I taste tested these before he got home, and I couldn't stay out of them! The raisins are not over powering at all, and you HAVE to take the advice of other reviewers and roll them in a sugar cinnamon mixture before baking. The only other thing I changed was I added about 2 Tbsp of butter in with the butter flavored shortening because it wasn't creaming the way I would like. Bake 9-10 minutes for perfectly chewy cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Great oatmeal cookies! I'm not a fan of raisins or walnuts in my desserts, so I omitted those ingredients but they still turned out amazing! Instead, I decided to 'ice' these cookies, which got mixed reviews with my friends and families. Most felt the cookie was fine on it's own. Mix 1 cup of sifted powdered sugar, 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract, and 2 to 4 tbsp. of milk. Makes a great glaze you rub over the top of each cookie with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Keystone Heights, Florida, USA
Living In: White Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great recipe, my husband took some to share at work and they got great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shinnston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I'm not a great cookie fan, particularly oatmeal, (Dad's was the exception) but these are very good. The cinnamon blended perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Best oatmeal cookie I've ever made!!! Thought I would pass out while tasting the first! LOL! I followed the recipe exactly on the first batch, kinda botched the second not paying attention to the order in which things should be mixed in... So be advised, the order is very important! Thanks Happygolucky!! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Bake 9 - 10 minutes to keep them chewy! Great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Beats ANY other oatmeal cookie recipe I have ever made. If you put them in a metal tin they stay moist and delicious for DAYS though they rarely last that long. I ALWAYS make a double batch b/c they go so fast. The ONLY substitutions I make are to use 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening, and I omit the nuts b/c I don't like them. I don't know if it is the soaking of the raisins in the eggs or what but these truly are the absolute BEST oatmeal cookies I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These cookies are simply delicious. My children just loved them and got a good review from a little girl that doesn't normally like oatmeal cookies. I followed the recipe as is but used butter instead of shortening. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Ok I tried. I really tried to like these cookies, however, they are missing something... I made them 2 different times, thinking maybe I goofed on the first batch? I like a chewy, oaty, cookie, that is soft. These were cake like and something is missing....they were rather bland tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
These were great! I have been looking for a soft oatmeal cookie! This is the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States