Grandmother's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Super yummy! I don't care for raisins, so used craisins instead. Next time I may add some choc. chips to the batter. I also think these would be great naked...just plain ol' oatmeal cookies! Don't forget an ice cold glass of milk with these! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Dick
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Just yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I would say my results were based on user error or maybe it was just a bad day to bake. I had a hard time working the dough. Then baking from 350 for 10 min, increasing to 375 for 8 min - cookies were flat either way. Taste okay but not very appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I haven't baked in years but was looking for a cookie recipe for my children's school class holiday celebrations. I have never been crazy about oatmeal cookies but decided I would make them as a healthier alternative to sugar or chocolate chip cookies. I chose this recipe given the rave reviews and I was pleasantly surprised. They are delicious!! I also used whole wheat flour for added fiber. If you use whole wheat flour it's suggested that you use 1 part whole wheat flour to 2 parts all-purpose flour as a substitution in any recipe. So you would continue to use the all-purpose flour but you can use less of it because you're substituting a portion with wheat flour. I used "King Arthur Whole Wheat Flour" brand. In addition to walnuts and raisins I also used dried cranberries and they were absolutely delicious. The cranberries taste like candy in the cookies. Enjoy! I definitely recommend this recipe with my added tips to make it even more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I think these are the best oatmeal raisin cookies I have ever made! I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening; followed another reviewer's comment and rolled them in a sugar/cinnamon mix. I'm using this recipe from now on - thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Buchanan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is the best oatmeal cookie recipe around! I used butter instead of shortening but otherwise stuck to the recipe. The cookies tasted great and were soft and moist for days! These cookies were favorites with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I've made this recipe more often than I could count. It is by far my favorite oatmeal cookie recipe, and one of my favorite cookie recipes overall. Even people who don't like oatmeal cookies like these. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Good cookie recipe, Great flavor, and good texture. Followed recipe exactly, and cookies came out great ! Thanx for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Awesome! After reading other reviews, I used butter instead of shortening. They came out great. Soft, chewy. Mmmmmmm.... Will keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan Barnard
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
took a little longer to cook than the 10-12 minutes. I must have made them too big.. Nonetheless, perfect cookies, perfect flavor and texture. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barnard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States