Grandmother's Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
OMG! - I baked these for a church bake sale and they were a huge hit. And to top it off, my husband who isn't a big oatmeal cookie fan says that these were the best oatmeal cookies he's ever tasted in his entire life. Thanks for the recipe. I did make one additional change besides using butter as opposed to shortening, I also added 1/2 tsp. of baking powder and dropped by 1/4 cup measure to make jumbo cookies. I adjusted the temperature to 340 degrees F and baked for 15 minutes. They appear to be a little underdone but are perfect after they cool and set. - DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
These are hands down the best oatmeal cookies I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I don't know what happened with mine. The dough was extremely dry and stiff. They did not melt down during backing at all. I tested 4 balls at first and they came out balls. The next batch I mashed down and they came out dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This is the first review that I have ever done on here and this recipe is fabulous. I went hunting one day for an Oatmeal Cookie recipe and this was the one I deceided on. It was well worth it. These cookies disappeared faster than I could bake them. I did make a couple of changes only because I always do that. I used butter and cut back on salt, toasted the walnuts, added 1/2 tsp of cloves and nutmeg, added 3/4 cup of white chocolate chips. I dipped the rolled balls of cookie dough in a mixture of 1/2 cup of sugar and 2-3 tsp of cinammon. Cooked for 11 minutes and dusted the cookie pans with flour before putting on the cookies. I pressed each cookie lightly with a fork. I would give this a five star rating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Super yummy! I don't care for raisins, so used craisins instead. Next time I may add some choc. chips to the batter. I also think these would be great naked...just plain ol' oatmeal cookies! Don't forget an ice cold glass of milk with these! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Dick
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Just yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I would say my results were based on user error or maybe it was just a bad day to bake. I had a hard time working the dough. Then baking from 350 for 10 min, increasing to 375 for 8 min - cookies were flat either way. Taste okay but not very appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I haven't baked in years but was looking for a cookie recipe for my children's school class holiday celebrations. I have never been crazy about oatmeal cookies but decided I would make them as a healthier alternative to sugar or chocolate chip cookies. I chose this recipe given the rave reviews and I was pleasantly surprised. They are delicious!! I also used whole wheat flour for added fiber. If you use whole wheat flour it's suggested that you use 1 part whole wheat flour to 2 parts all-purpose flour as a substitution in any recipe. So you would continue to use the all-purpose flour but you can use less of it because you're substituting a portion with wheat flour. I used "King Arthur Whole Wheat Flour" brand. In addition to walnuts and raisins I also used dried cranberries and they were absolutely delicious. The cranberries taste like candy in the cookies. Enjoy! I definitely recommend this recipe with my added tips to make it even more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I think these are the best oatmeal raisin cookies I have ever made! I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening; followed another reviewer's comment and rolled them in a sugar/cinnamon mix. I'm using this recipe from now on - thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Buchanan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is the best oatmeal cookie recipe around! I used butter instead of shortening but otherwise stuck to the recipe. The cookies tasted great and were soft and moist for days! These cookies were favorites with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States